Skip to content

review: revlon matte lipsticks

7 September 2009

So the following would be my first review: do keep in mind my disclaimer that I am, by no means (obviously) a professional of any sorts – I am simply here to offer my view of the products I tried for any of you curious kittens!

♥  ♥  ♥

As of late I’ve become increasingly interested in makeup, the growing love (now turned obsession) due to the many hours I’ve spent pouring over videos by my favorite Youtube gurus. Already I’ve compiled a rather large shopping list of must-haves from my favorite brands: NARS, Illamasqua, and of course, MAC. A greater portion of these [materialistic] lists do consist of lip products; pre-makeup-obsessed phase, my one love (cosmetically speaking) was lip products – lip glosses, lipsticks, lip balms, lip treatments the likes. I’ve always loved dark, smokey eyes or a thick winged liner, so experimentation in regards to eye looks and products were always limited to similar, classic looks. Bright colored shadows on the eyes often made me look (and feel) a bit silly. With my lips, however, I allow myself to be braver; nudes, pastel or Barbie pinks, bright fuschias, lilacs, and deep reds managed to look fairly decent on me.

My current fixations are nude, pinky-nudes, and pastel pink lipsticks – inspired by none other than Lollipop26, TheCurrentCustom, and HollyMae20. After watching a few of their videos, I whipped up a rather thorough list of lipsticks of that color range. I hadn’t yet tried such colors prior, and was a bit reluctant on shelling out a tad bit more moolah than usual should the color look wholly strange on me after the purchase.

Revlon Matte Lipsticks 0121

Revlon Matte lipsticks: 001 Nude Attitude & 002 Pink Pout

And this is when drugstore brands deserve to be recognized – though sometimes lesser in quality in comparison the likes of MAC and Nars, they provide a cheaper alternative to experiment with. Revlon has always been one of my favorite of those brands, as they have been dependable in quality throughout the generations. After reading positive reviews of Revlon’s Matte Collection and a rave by Lollipop26 on its quality and color, I picked up two of the Matte lipsticks at a local pharmacy (they happened to be on sale too – another bonus!): Nude Attitude (No. 001) and Pink Pout (No. 002).

I was surprised at how much I actually liked them; generally, lip products that claim to be matte are one of two things: (1) immensely drying or, (2) not truly matte. I’ve always been a fan of matte finishes, since they are a bit more unique in comparison to shimmery or glossier finishes, adding a touch of interest and sophistication. (Perhaps it is because I have rather full lips and don’t always feel like further emphasizing them.) My point? These lipsticks truly are matte.

They have a creamy consistency sans the shimmer and shine, applying smoothly over the lips. Keep in mind that regardless of the lipsticks finish, it is necessary to exfoliate and moisturize your lips prior to application for a smooth finish. Throughout the course of the day the lips may feel dry when pressed together; but in actuality, it is simply the finish of the lipstick that causes that. So while I feel a bit paranoid that my lips look flaky, a quick glance at a mirror reassures me that my lips are hardly so!

Revlon Matte Lipsticks 0161

{Swatches, from top to bottom: Nude Attitude, Pink Pout}

The color pigmentation is of good quality; one swipe is enough for decent color payoff, even on highly pigmented lips like my own (for reference, mine are quite red-pink naturally). I do, however, recommend at least two swipes for a true matte color – the results are quite beautiful. The staying power is commendable as well; there is little to no stain on the necks of water bottles or glass cups, lasting for as long as a few hours. I hardly mind reapplying throughout the day after every hour or so, but it does come in handy on the occasion that I do forget or am busy.

All of the above for the price of $7 – $8 is truly well worth your dollars (I actually paid $6, since the store was having an offer on the Revlon lip products)!

♥ Nude Attitude (No. 001)

Revlon Matte Lipsticks 0061

I suppose  it would only be logical to begin with this: my first nude lipstick ever. I’ve only been hesitant with such lip color simply because so many makeup bloggers/youtubers have stated that nudes work and look best on those with pale, almost fleshtoned lips – and few with pigmented lips could pull of the nude lips. The color of this particular nude is less beige than MAC’s renowned Myth and Creme d’Nude; instead, it has an apricot undertone. Most bloggers who have reviewed Nude Attitude had disliked the color for that reason saying it looked unnatural.

But mind you the aforementioned reviews about the color were from those of paler skin with pink undertones. I actually find this one quite wearable and flattering for me, concluding that this shade works best only if you are well tanned (meaning this would strictly be a summer color for me) and have golden undertones in your skin! I do love Nude Attitude at the moment – not only does it play up the summer holiday tan, but is able to look nude sans the usual complete washing-out-your-lips effect! A thumbs up for this lipstick; I highly recommend it for those of medium complexions with golden undertones (pink & olive undertones be wary!).

♥ Pink Pout (No. 002)

Revlon Matte Lipsticks 0081

Because of Pink Pout I have henceforth, officially, deemed pastel pink lipsticks a new favorite and staple in my humble collection of lip products. After swatching it when I came home, I ran out and bought a backup (yes, I do love it that much!) I highly recommend this color; again, I was doubtful as to how it would look on my lips as mine are fairly pigmented, but somehow, it looked quite lovely. Very different from the usual mauves I turn to, but nonetheless a new favorite.

I would say it is fairly comparable to MAC’s Colour Crafted in color (not in finish) – which makes me quite happy since the color was sold out at my local MAC counter. It is a creamy pink with a slight blue undertone, perfect for Barbie pink lips sans the cartoon-pink effect of Saint Germain (also by MAC). I do think of Lorraine of The Current Custom when I wear it. Is it love? I think so.

♥  ♥  ♥

bisous,

La C.

41 Comments leave one →
  1. 7 September 2009 6:56 pm

    Thank you for the reviews!
    I’ve been reading a lot about Revlon’s Nude Attitude from bloggers too.
    I’m def. picking one up the next time I stop at the drug store.

  2. 7 September 2009 7:21 pm

    I have quite full lips too, therefore I love mattes instead of glosses. If I use glosses I feel like everyone is staring on my lips xD These had really lovely colors and I will look for them on my next internet shopping spree which should happen soon xD

  3. 7 September 2009 7:40 pm

    Ooh lovely, I love lipstick. Though all of mine comes from Clinique, since they’re always giving them away when they have their specials. I adore the nude lip look, but have never been successful with it! Drugstore brands–I always trust Maybelline and Revlon the most! With a bit of experiment with Wet n Wild.
    PS as far as youtubers ago, I’m always a fan of RiceBunny/Michelle Phan!

  4. 7 September 2009 7:58 pm

    I hadly ever wear actual lipstick, most of the time I just stick to my good old Carmex. I guess I’m not very risky when it comes to lip colour, the only one I love is Clinique’s Almost lipstick in Black Honey. Very subtle & keeps my lips moisturized.

    Great post again La C.

    xx,
    Ale.

  5. milly permalink
    7 September 2009 8:01 pm

    nice colors…need to try that line from revlon
    what nail polish are you wearing?

  6. 7 September 2009 9:38 pm

    Great reviews. I’ll have to share this with my sis. Hope your week got off to a nice start. Cheers!

  7. 8 September 2009 1:10 am

    i’m glad there are matte lipsticks because i’m not one for the freshly coated sparkly, shimmery lip gloss.

    give me some carmex or burt’s bees and i’ll be fine.

  8. 8 September 2009 4:02 am

    i have the revlon pink pout & it is quite lovely it’s actually $20 here in Australia though so you are lucky you only paid a small amount. i just recently got the YSL rouge volupte in Lingerie Pink which is even more gorgeous but very similar.
    Love this post btw. 🙂
    x

  9. 8 September 2009 8:05 am

    LOVE pink pout! totally true about keeping lips moisturised before you use it though =)

  10. 8 September 2009 12:43 pm

    Such a detailed review ! I love it, it’s impressive all you can say about a lipstick x)

  11. 8 September 2009 1:34 pm

    Love pink lipstick!

    XoXo

  12. 8 September 2009 4:09 pm

    great review…I will have to try!!!

  13. 8 September 2009 4:13 pm

    Ah thanks for the mention! I love both of those lipsticks 🙂 I used to think Nude Attitude couldn’t work for me but I find when I am tan that its the best nude to go with 🙂

  14. 8 September 2009 5:05 pm

    I am definitely trying Pink Pout! 🙂 I looove pastel pink lip sticks, and this one seems very good. Nude Attitude is probably not right for my skin tone, but in the summertime I think it may work.

    & you are a fabulous critic/reviewer! Especially for your first time!

    – laur @ neonmango

  15. 8 September 2009 9:30 pm

    I’ve SO gotta pick up Pink Pout. Thanks for the reviews!

  16. 8 September 2009 11:29 pm

    ooh, I am very interested in trying out Pink Pout! I have gotten quite obsessed with lipstick lately and am currently fixated on all shades of pink. Although I have to say, I have MAC’s Saint Germain and I love it! I do get what you mean though, it is a chalky kind of pink. but I love how it contrasts on my skin tone 🙂
    awesome review!!

    ♡ R

  17. 8 September 2009 11:55 pm

    great job on the review! i kinda like that nude one
    i love sheer nude by MAC, so pretty if you love nudes

  18. 9 September 2009 1:48 am

    OMG! If I don’t pick up a tube of PINK POUT, I’m solely going to have something to POUT about because it’s FAB GLAM for sure !!!:)
    bisous,
    Gerri

  19. 9 September 2009 3:32 am

    Hi there-fabulous reviews of these lipsticks, nude is such a stylish classic shade!!

  20. 9 September 2009 4:44 am

    ah, sweet! i’m just about to top up with a new pink shade so thanks for the tip!

  21. 9 September 2009 9:55 am

    I’d love to test those! I don’t have a good nude lipstick so maybe I’ll try this one

    • 9 September 2009 9:56 am

      @Iris: You definitely should give it a whirl (: If you have more olive-y or pink-ish undertones in your skin, I’d suggest MAC’s Fleshpot or Myth lipsticks (:

  22. 9 September 2009 10:55 am

    I’m a gloss girl myself; but I do quite like the look of Nude Attitude – perhaps I’ll give it a whirl. Great review, darling! 🙂

    • 9 September 2009 10:56 am

      @Cafe Fashionista: I used to be a gloss girl, now I’m e n a m o r e d with lipsticks (: Thanks! xx

  23. 9 September 2009 12:28 pm

    Lovely!
    I really like both makeup&fashion related blogs, I simply love both.

    x

  24. 9 September 2009 4:13 pm

    interesting, i am a lipstick/gloss addict but unfortunately can’t get away with the cheaper brands 😦

  25. 9 September 2009 4:13 pm

    I love the pink pout lipstick color! 🙂

  26. 9 September 2009 4:14 pm

    Well,you definetely convinced me to buy the Nude Attitude from Revlon!Recently I’m very into nudes and this came in the right moment.Honey I tell you again and again I absolutely adore your style of writing,your inspirational posts and as you will see in my first post(I’ve started a blog!!)you made me addicted to La couturier!!!I hope you will add me to your blogroll: http://hisforhotcouture.blogspot.com/
    Kisses ma cherie!I hope you will let me know what is your opinion as far as my blog is concerned.

    • 9 September 2009 4:15 pm

      @Ramona: I try to be convincing (; Same here; only lately I’ve been rather obsessed with nudes and pastel pinks!

      Thaaaank you, you’re the sweetest! I’m so glad you started a blog!! I’ve just checked it out (sorry for the late response, I’ve only just had a bit of spare time to catch up on comments and the likes 😛 ) xx

  27. 9 September 2009 7:10 pm

    Love this review, esp. since you picked colors that I actually would wear. 🙂 I alternate between Nars and Clinique but am going to try the Pink Pout now!

    xo, Becs

    • 9 September 2009 7:11 pm

      @Becs: Thanks love (: I’m in the midst of trying out MAC & NARS; any suggestions? (: xx

  28. 10 September 2009 2:04 am

    i love the lighter pink! 🙂

  29. 10 September 2009 2:45 pm

    I have rather full lips as well, so I hardly ever wear any makeup on them (I go quite easy with makeup in general, actually). Good to know that such low-priced lipstick can be that good! I’ll try it out, for sure!
    Lucy =)

    http://thefashionsetter.blogspot.com

    • 10 September 2009 2:48 pm

      @Lucy: I’m usually not one to wear makeup on a daily basis – I save it for those special nights or occasion that call for a bit more sultriness (; You definitely should try it out, it’s quite fantastic!

  30. 10 September 2009 4:41 pm

    Hey there, girl! Just came back from a great trip in NYC!

    I think I’d like to try that Pink Pout…as much as I like nude lippies on others, it doesn’t work for my face. Sighs.

  31. thebaglady permalink
    16 September 2009 10:07 pm

    I love that your blog covers EVERYTHING possible – I swear, this needs to become a magazine! You have an advice column for life & style, fashion, trends, intelligent articles, inspiration, more writing, living, & beauty!

    Great review, I think I’ll cut some slack on my NARS eaten wallet for this; they sound fabulous!

    • 16 September 2009 10:08 pm

      @thebaglady: Again, t h a n k y o u s o o o much! You always find time to leave the sweetest comment that make me blush! (:

  32. 4 October 2009 8:58 am

    I always wear Nude Attitude!!!! 😉 x

    http://www.kaelasroom.blogspot.com

  33. 4 October 2009 8:59 am

    I always wear Nude Attitude!! 😉 x

Trackbacks

  1. target, je t’aime. « la couturier

Leave a comment