Skip to content

spotted: erin wasson

29 November 2008

Spotted: Erin Wasson. “It” girl of the moment: model, fashion icon, Alexander Wang’s friend & stylist, & designer collaborator with RVCA.

At: LA (of course). At the 11th Annual Entertainment Tonight/People Emmy Awards Soiree. 

Wearing: a gorgeous Balmain dress. Very Erin Wasson with the edgy, bat print spanning across the side. Yet at the same time, very unlike her usual style: the hair, all thrown to one side in that 90’s beachy tousle and 40s glamour, & the dress more feminine than her usual style.

It’s innocent from the front…

but a bit naughty in the back…

11th Annual Entertainment Tonight/People Emmy Awards Party, Los Angeles, CA

I love everything about this dress. It’s sweet & saucy, with a bit of classy rock edge to it; the white dress is embellished with crystals, sequins, and embroidery on the design. From the back, the dress’s cutout reveals the back perfectly, in a way that is sexy, alluring – never trashy. And that big, exposed zipper. So gorgeous.

xoxo,

La C.

32 Comments leave one →
  1. 29 November 2008 11:27 am

    That dress is gorgeous! I think it´s Balmain…

    Maybe I will give the fur hat a go 🙂

  2. 29 November 2008 11:54 am

    wow. that dress is hot! great post/pic

  3. thebaglady permalink
    29 November 2008 12:28 pm

    she looks hot! i love the dress.

  4. 29 November 2008 12:45 pm

    I love love love that dress. it’s way hot.

  5. 29 November 2008 12:53 pm

    the dress is by balmain….erin elevates its foxiness to wowwwwwwwwwwwww levels

  6. 29 November 2008 12:57 pm

    In the words of Rachel Zoe. “I die.” Sooo gorgeous! As to your comment regarding MW x H&M: I really like that dress as well. I am so excited to see what he comes up with!
    xxxx

  7. 29 November 2008 2:46 pm

    oh my goodness, she looks gorgeous here. even though it strays from her typical grunge style, it works so well.

    kill me now, balmain. i’ll forever lust after your beautiful pieces.

  8. 29 November 2008 3:07 pm

    The dress is gorgeous.

  9. 29 November 2008 3:23 pm

    This is gorgeous… the detailing an zipper just spice it all up!
    Phew, HOT!

  10. 29 November 2008 3:24 pm

    This is one of her best outifts ever

  11. 29 November 2008 3:51 pm

    Erin Wasson is so stunning! I love her fashion choices! They’re all so sey and oh so chic. I really wish I could ave that Balmain dress. The dresses in the new Spring collection are just to die for!

    Thanks for the wonderful blog comment!
    FashionChalet is just the best. ❤

  12. 29 November 2008 4:35 pm

    Oh dear…what a face, what a figure, what a dress! Especially the back, oh, what an idea!

  13. 29 November 2008 5:00 pm

    Your blog is seriously becoming a top favorite of mine!! Keep the loveliness up! 🙂

    xx

  14. 29 November 2008 5:45 pm

    Erin Wasson is like one of the best fashion icon, ever! 🙂 Cool post!

  15. goodness. permalink
    29 November 2008 8:18 pm

    “Something happens and everyone joins the trend. I think it’s because there are so many cheesy blogs. It’s the blind leading the blind. People think they’re experts because they research things on their computers at home, where they’re safe.”
    -Ben Cho

  16. thebaglady permalink
    29 November 2008 11:25 pm

    hi goodness – everyone is entitled to their own opinion. La C. obviously liked this dress on erin & did a post on it to share it to her readers. there’s no reason to imply that her blog cheesy: it’s actually one of the best out there.

  17. 29 November 2008 11:30 pm

    thebaglady – i do appreciate your valiant attempt to defend me. to call me one of “the best blogs out there” is truly flattering!

    goodness – you are entitled to your opinions & i’m glad that you have your own view on my blog. whether or not you’re implying something about me/my blog has no impact on me whatsoever. i just want to make a disclaimer: no one is a true expert. nor do i claim myself to be one. i’m just merely a girl who loves fashion.

    xoxo

  18. 30 November 2008 7:12 am

    Too right la couturier – everyone is entitled to their opinions. The whole point of a blog is to share your views with others, if they want to listen they can…if not they can bugger off!

  19. 30 November 2008 8:32 am

    she is soooo beautiful!!! and that dress is awesome!

  20. 30 November 2008 9:37 am

    She’s so beautiful .. wow and that dress is gorgeous. Everything is perfect!

  21. 30 November 2008 9:37 am

    This blog is by no means cheesy. I think it’s a reflection of intelligence, taste and individuality from a very sweet and unpretentious girl :). Just taking my turn to share MY point of view.

    La Lovely, I love your very graceful response to criticism, and your opinions overall. Also, I think the dress is HOT!

  22. 30 November 2008 5:16 pm

    Wow that guy was pretty harsh, but at least he had the guts to leave his name!

  23. La Couturier permalink
    30 November 2008 5:36 pm

    carl – thank you!
    rachel – you are the sweetest girl ever!!
    mizzj – haha!

    xoxo
    La C.

  24. 30 November 2008 7:13 pm

    Hmm. I’ve read that quote somewhere before. It’s from some designer who was commenting on the many fashion-related blogs today. And honestly, it really crippled my own confidence in starting up our own blog with Rachel.

    But then I realised, if the blind do end up leading the blind, then I guess you’d have to be a really proud person to realise you’re the only one who isn’t blind.

    I agree with thebaglady. And well, if we’re all blind in this – at least I know we’re humble, and we’re not out there trying to prove anything. We’re just doing what we love.

    Here’s to you, La Lovely! 🙂

  25. 30 November 2008 10:03 pm

    You read through the whole long post! I want to hug you majorly right now.

    And not to worry dearie, you are head-strong and fantastic and I know you won’t stoop to low-levels of drama. What I meant was, I wish people had the sense to stay away from causing drama by leaving such “cryptic” comments just to provoke others.

    In any case, you defended yourself with such tact and taste. If that isn’t admirable, I don’t know what is. Keep up the fab posts, inspiring writing and being your lovely self. 🙂

    Love,
    “Eloise” – Haha :p

  26. 1 December 2008 3:56 pm

    She’s beautiful but I can’t take her seriously since that Nylon TV video!!

    Great blog!

    xx

  27. 4 December 2008 8:46 pm

    would kill for that dress x

  28. 5 December 2008 4:56 pm

    The dress is beautiful..

  29. 9 December 2008 5:22 am

    Thanks a lot for your comment on my blog. It was the 1st time I saw a comment coming from you, so welcome on my blog !
    I’m just discovering your blog, I like it !
    Erin Wasson is perfect and sooo beautiful. Thanks to her, the destroyed skinny jeans by TopShop became as famous as her !

  30. 14 December 2008 11:01 pm

    I’m not usually a colour person and stick a lot to monochrome comfort, with lots of gray in between.

    However, there is something about pink – crazy magenta to the sweetest bubblegum – that is so addictive and so alluring. Anything in pink, I somehow feel compelled to have. I won’t even know how to wear it or use it, but I know I need to have it. I think I have pink in my black blood & pink valves in my black heart…lol.

    That floral corset is to-die-for by the way. Due to my um, incredibly boyish body, lovely stuff like corsets are things I can’t really wear. :/ But looking at them is delish enough as it is. That print, that perfect short length with itsybitsy midriff exposure and the curves that match with the arc of her pose – sexy, sweet, super and so-needs-to-be-in-my-closet (even if I can’t wear it)!

    Great post, as per usual ♥
    Sylvia Eloise Hui qui est fan de La C…
    *is a little crazy today, sorry babe :p*

  31. 17 January 2013 2:32 pm

    “spotted: erin wasson la couturier” ended up being really entertaining
    and educational! In modern world that is quite hard to
    accomplish. Many thanks, Christal

  32. 23 January 2013 4:50 am

    I actually was basically seeking for recommendations for my
    own web site and came across your posting, “spotted: erin wasson la couturier”, would
    you mind if perhaps I implement a bit of of ur ideas? Thanks -Kathryn

Leave a comment