Skip to content

the story of one skirt & six women.

30 November 2008

I hardly believe in love at first sight. Not that I’m a cynical pessimist, but the phrase is just so, well, shallow. But as there is for everything, there is one exception. This Alexander Wang skirt in black, exposed zipper and all. Simply gorgeous, fabulous, [insert positive adjective here]. And its versatility with any occasion and/or style is unbelievable.

And here are six different ensembles, all of which represent a different woman. Completely fictional women who lead fabulous lives, whose interpretation of the AW skirt tells a story.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

 The Practical

the-practical

Margaret Fischer. Already successful in her early 20s, fresh out of Yale University majoring in political science, Miss Fischer was an assistant for the famous trial attorney of some large law firm. Every morning, promptly at six thirty, she would wake up to brew a cup of hot coffee – black, of course. Whilst waiting for her cup of coffee, she would get ready with her basic uniform: the AW skirt, a chiffon cream blouse tucked in, and a cardigan (in case it was cold in the office). Occasionally she would add on a few bangles or so. Being the most time-efficient girl, Margaret would finish putting her hair up in a low chignon by seven. All she needed to do was grab the coffee and stuff the pile of manila folders and her trusty Moleskin planner into a leather Birkin. Simple, practical, and all business was her motto. And a classic color palette helped that.

 The Artist

the-artist

Parson’s Design School student, Eloise, loved color – preferably large pops of bright hues, here and there. She was always a creative girl, who, as a child, spent hours pouring over her Crayola markers and coloring books and turning them into Picasso-worthy works of art. Years later, she became the person she always dreamed of being: a graphic designer studying modern art. Eloise would spend her weekends at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Sometimes she would spend hours in one gallery, sitting daintily at a bench sketching in her Moleskin with the rainbow array of mini Sharpies she always carried in her colorful Chanel 2.55 in satin (her most prized possession next to her Metropolitan’s guide to art). Museum curators and guards would compliment her outfit; a blue draped Balenciaga top with her much loved AW skirt, and Guess platform Mary-Janes. Eloise always answered with a confident smile, pushing up her Chanel glasses that slid down her nose occasionally. The guards loved her MAC-pink lips.

 Purple is the Color of Royalty

royaltyCécile loved wandering around the streets of Paris at night – especially after an entire day of endless commotion during Paris Fashion Week, where she sat alongside Carine Roitfeld in the front row jotting notes – as it was her job as the editor’s assistant to do so. It was a bit chilly sitting outside the petit cafe eating un crepe de chocolat; it was a good thing Cécile wore her wool, off the shoulder coat cinched with a skinny patent belt. Her legs were a bit cold; but it was Paris – all the French ladies wore skirts to flaunt their mile long legs. She sat there daydreaming; wishing for a French man to whisk her off her Louboutin-clad feet to the Eiffel Tower for a romantic date. But her Blackberry Curve vibrated, interrupting this little dream. It was a text from Pierre – the handsome photographer she had met the evening before when she assisted with the January issue photo-shoot. She was careful not to chip her newly applied OPI nailpolish as she rummaged her patent 2.55 for her MAC shadow and liquid eyeliner. The girl smiled as she finished touching up her smoldering, smokey eye. She was to meet Pierre in half an hour at the carousel across le Tour d’Eiffel.

 Erin Wasson Would be Proud

erin-wasson-would-be-proudAbby loved being photographed by street-style photographers. Today, it was by the charming Kamel of of Style and the City who happened to be in LA. Before taking her photo by the boardwalk, Abby applied a quick coat of Burt’s Bees lip balm – that was all the makeup she needed. As Kamel asked for the usual “what are you wearing” questions, Abby answered confidently and precisely. Hanes v-neck tee. Vintage Ray-Ban aviators, Bebe zippered heels, AW zip-front skirt, DIY headband. And Balenciaga motorcycle bag. She took a few photos, posing as the warm wind lifted her hair off her shoulders. “Perfect,” said Kamel. And she smiled.

 I Wish I Had Hair Like Tarina Tarantino…

gala-darling

Lola was excited for tonight; it was her first important gig at one of New York City’s hottest clubs deejaying, where many celebrities spent the weekends lounging about sipping cosmopolitans under the flashy strobe lights. She was ready to wear her favorite outfit – all in black & pink of course. After all, Gala Darling and Tarina Tarantino were her biggest idols (she had often dreamed of sporting the hot pink hair color). Lola zipped up the tiny skirt, loving how the bright pink pumps contrasted greatly with her mostly black outfit. The sequined hoodie was perfect for the bright lights – she was determined to shine in that club. And the accessories: her favorite part of an outfit. She never skimped on the chunky jewelry; tonight, she sported all Tarina Tarantino creations: the big ring, a skull necklace, and of course, the flower clip she would put in her super-straight hair to match the bits of pink scattered about the outfit. Lola grabbed her iPod & a bottle of water, stuffing it into her patent Chanel as she ran out of her loft for a taxi.

 Corporate Chic

corporate-chic2Claire de Lune. Named after her mother’s favorite Debussy piece, she had, no doubt, inherited her namesake’s classical and beautiful qualities. She was a dainty girl: perfect manners, perfect hair, always perfectly poised even in the stickiest of situations. Her friends and admirers always called her a Blair Waldorf, sans the mean qualities. She indeed, was much like the Gossip Girl character; always dressed in a ruffled blouse tucked into a fitted skirt, a pair of peeptoe pumps, and finishing the ensemble with a headband and, of course, a great bag. Today’s outfit reflected her girlish personality; though a majority of her outfit was black, her chiffon blouse offsetted the sophisticated color with a bit of femininity. Claire smiled as she checked her hair quickly before putting away her mirror in her newly bought Anya Hindmarch bag. Legs crossed, sitting straight, Claire pulled out her notes and laptop, ready to write her first article for Harper’s Bazaare as their youngest fashion editor. 

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

I do hope you enjoyed this article! Which girl would you be? And how would you wear the AW skirt?

xoxo,

La C.

65 Comments leave one →
  1. 30 November 2008 2:33 pm

    The black skirt is a staple in my wardrobe. This one, I’d wear it in the 90’s way: sheer tights with super high-heels and a slouchy knit or silk top.

  2. 30 November 2008 2:41 pm

    You brilliant girl! I love the combination of fashion and stories 🙂 I’d probably want to BE Eloise, but dress like Cécile. The shirt is fantastic, nice pick! Do more of these, pretty-please? (no rhyme intended)

  3. 30 November 2008 2:42 pm

    I love how innovative this is! It’s so amazing how the same skirt can transform into so many different types of style. I think I’m a Lola. I love Margaret Fischer though. She seems a little older though. I Love This Post! ❤

    I added you to my list of Must See Blogs. ^_^

  4. 30 November 2008 2:47 pm

    very nice!

  5. 30 November 2008 2:47 pm

    What a cool post! I loved the variety in the different looks-they are so accurate too! I am lusting after every single thing in the Erin Wasson Would be Proud category.

  6. 30 November 2008 3:08 pm

    Hi,

    I tell you thank you for having stopped again my blog. Museum of Applied Arts is the beautiful building. (Budapest, Hungary) A Christmas fair is game for all years for the artisans. Personal contact with the artists. I like it very much. My post is about this… (http://janetteria.blogspot.com/2008/11/kz-m-karcsonyi-vsr.html)

    Your post: Lovely, lovely, lovely! I adore Chanel things. Bags, bangle etc… Cute…

    xoxo: Janet

    Have a great day: Janet

  7. 30 November 2008 3:55 pm

    thank u soo much!
    :]

  8. 30 November 2008 3:59 pm

    Love this post…honestly I feel like such a chameleon that I can see a little bit of every style in myself. Love it!

  9. 30 November 2008 4:03 pm

    love love each pieces, will definitely wear the first one and the one with the plain tee–so chic!!!

  10. thebaglady permalink
    30 November 2008 4:18 pm

    La C. you are sooooo incredibly creative! i loved this post – make some more like this 🙂

    i think i would be the last one, corporate chic. love the femininity of the blouse.

  11. 30 November 2008 4:18 pm

    you’re so creative! i really enjoyed reading this article! and just loooooove the skirt… too bad it’ll break my bank account.. haha!

  12. 30 November 2008 4:46 pm

    This is such a cool post; you have great imagination. As for the girl I would like to be, I had a really hard time deciding, but I would love to be Eloise – I have a really strong interest in art.

    ♥TIna

  13. 30 November 2008 5:04 pm

    Wow! I love this post! I got a lot of ideas and inspirations! Thanks you loves!! 🙂

  14. 30 November 2008 5:14 pm

    Wow this has got to be one of my most fav posts in awhile! Great stories that totally evoke the outfits. Picking just one is so hard, I could see myself wearing any of these at any given time! However, if I had to choose one for just today, it would be Abby b/c I’m totally loving the whole boho-rocker chic look lately, minus the headband.

  15. 30 November 2008 6:21 pm

    I adore you! This was such a fun read… not to mention the fantastic sets.

    Safe to say, I could, one any given day, be any of these fabulous styles.

  16. 30 November 2008 6:26 pm

    I love love love this post. Some really great outfits there. xxxx

  17. 30 November 2008 7:27 pm

    Even though I’m not the one who’d decide about which one to wear, I really enjoyed reading the post. Finally I had some time to relax. Thanks a lot!

  18. Vintage Me New You permalink
    30 November 2008 7:56 pm

    ohh…i loved reading this:)i will read more next time!
    thank you for your comment!
    have a great time and all the loveXXX

    http://vintagetraffic.blogspot.com/

  19. 30 November 2008 9:12 pm

    Am I allowed to start calling myself Eloise, after falling hoplessly in love with the way you’ve crafted her story? Okay I take that as a yes…haha. :p

    What a great idea for a post and how excellently you have written it out. So in love with your writing I can’t explain it. Effortlessly melding your own concepts of style with your own personality in writing.

    Picture-wise, I am obsessed with M’elle De Lune’s pale pink blouse. So light, so soft, SO-NEEDS-TO-BE-IN-MY-CLOSET…

    I’m hyperventilating. Haha. :p

    Love,
    Hui

  20. 30 November 2008 9:49 pm

    What a fabulous post!! It really made me smile. I love the little stories you created, all of the girls seem super chic (but still down to earth, of course). I loved every single outfit, and I think I’m most like…Cecile lol.

  21. 30 November 2008 11:11 pm

    I love the stories to go with the outfits; it just makes them so much more personalized. I’ve owned a black pencil skirt with an exposed zipper for a good 4 years now & it works with so many different things. I think I’d be ‘the artist’. Although I’d probably wear a little less of the big name designer pieces & I’d be wearing accessories I’ve bought at a craft fair or small-time designer’s shop (or something I’ve made).

  22. 1 December 2008 12:58 am

    Great post! I love the creativity of the outfits and the personas (and as a Chanel addict, I also love how you managed to incorporate Chanel accessories in almost every ensemble!). I’d be hard-pressed to pick one outfit, but I’d say I’m most like girl #1 and #6–I’m more practical and classic.

  23. 1 December 2008 1:54 am

    Impressive post! I’m shocked by my immaturity, but I want to be Lola. I mean, really, I’m too old for that!

  24. 1 December 2008 2:17 am

    This post was such a fun read! Going through each persona was like reading a little micro-novella (if there ever was such a thing). I have to admit to getting caught up in each one and imagining who I’d be, in addition to deciding which of those outfits I liked.

    I really really want to be Abby, for all her simplicity, calm and confidence (and the fact that her headband was DIY, which means she’s creative too). But in reality, I’m all over the place, and not nearly as collected. I have always wanted an office job (but not the work) for the chic, elegant (and I’d assume indulgent, thanks to a sizable paycheck) office wear and stilettos. Alas, I will not be going down that path. So, I’d have to say, Eloise! That Chanel of hers – iconic, but with her own personal twist. Just the sort of individual I aspire to be. Thanks for this post La C! And sorry about the really long comment… I got carried away! Haha.

  25. 1 December 2008 2:55 am

    Thanks for your comment.
    You are now in my blogroll 🙂
    Marina

  26. 1 December 2008 2:59 am

    i have seen the metallic purple chanel bag, it’s gorgeous. i have a patent black chanel flap, classic and it goes with almost everything. birkin of course, always savvy worthy but heavy.

  27. 1 December 2008 3:03 am

    oh i would wear the skirt with my purple/pink sweater and beige/black chanel maryjane using the patent chanel bag… : )

  28. 1 December 2008 3:27 am

    Lola sounds like my kind of lady! I loved reading this post that I actually wouldn’t mind being all of them for a day 😀

  29. 1 December 2008 7:57 am

    This post is great!!!
    How flexible can a black skirt be….

    Thank you for being at my blog and left such nice words.

    Keep in touch

    xoxo

  30. 1 December 2008 8:36 am

    for the record Claire de Lune is also a famous Australian Drag Queen…she wouldn’t touch that Wang with a 10ft pole…her loss!

  31. 1 December 2008 8:41 am

    oh gosh.
    so many beautiful things

    i want
    i want.

  32. 1 December 2008 9:27 am

    I would have to be corporate chic. Love that ruffle blouse!

    I just wish I could walk in skyscraper heels all the time, but my 15 minute walk from the station would take at least 30 in those heels 🙂

  33. 1 December 2008 9:43 am

    I did enjoy the article.

    I don’t know which one I want to try. Could I try all?!

  34. 1 December 2008 10:32 am

    darling i love reading this!!!!!brilliant.this felt like the pilot to some sex and the city type tv series.ok i loved this post!! im a bit like the arty girl i think.;o)
    now i want a part two to this!! hehe oh and the wang skirt is pretty terrific too.
    muah!
    Marian

  35. 1 December 2008 12:40 pm

    Hi La C!!

    OK so there are several things amongst those looks that I am dying to get my hands on. Great stuff!! I finally got around to updating my blogroll and added you.

    Katee

  36. 1 December 2008 1:01 pm

    And what a lovely story it is. 🙂

    I’m only happy to commend you and your blog, as your comments always have a way of making my day more than just a little bit brighter! 🙂

    love.

    xx

  37. 1 December 2008 1:04 pm

    forgot to answer your question.

    Cécile by night.

    Abby by day…..

    & Claire de Lune by working hours 🙂

    love.

    xx

  38. 1 December 2008 1:40 pm

    Oh sweetie, what a fantastic post. I love love LOVE it! All of them are great, but I think I’d be the “Erin Wasson Would Be Proud”..it’s excellent xoxo

  39. 1 December 2008 1:55 pm

    Truly fantastic post. Best. Ever.

  40. 1 December 2008 2:00 pm

    Black pencil skirts are a absolutely must have. Except I prefer mine below the knee and minus the zipper in the front. However that skirt is a cute look for the twentysomething crowd. The possibilities are endless!

  41. 1 December 2008 2:31 pm

    Great post! these outfits are all amazing and i loved reading it!

  42. 1 December 2008 4:40 pm

    Awesome and awesome. I love creating back stories for … well, just about anything that crosses my path. Within this framework, I think I’d probably choose the corporate chic outfit, but I suspect that has more to do with me being a Virgo and less to do with me belonging to the corporate world.

  43. 1 December 2008 5:14 pm

    Lovely outfits!

  44. 1 December 2008 6:03 pm

    LOVE! I WANT EVERYTHING!!!!!

  45. 1 December 2008 6:04 pm

    LOVE! I WANT EVERYTHING!

  46. 1 December 2008 6:15 pm

    You’re right, that skirt is perfection and could be worn so many ways…for so many years! Great looks here!

  47. 1 December 2008 6:38 pm

    I love the 3rd from the last. The idea of pairing a basic tshirt with that cute skirt and those heels is classic.
    simple perfection.

  48. 1 December 2008 6:58 pm

    oh wow.. i totally want that skirt now!! i really love the practical and the corporate looks 🙂

  49. carolyn permalink
    1 December 2008 7:16 pm

    Abby!!! b/c i don’t wear much makeup…but i would LOVE to be Cecile [<3purple!+europe setting]

    sooo best post!? + most-time-spent-on-a-post?! I THINK SO!!!!

    oh and you just made the AW skirt one of the top things i want for christmas!!!!!!! =D

  50. 1 December 2008 7:44 pm

    I loved corporate chic, but I guess I’m practical.. Lovely skirt!!

  51. 2 December 2008 12:02 am

    you are a genius!! I would not be able to come up w/ half of those combinations. I think I am the Tarina Tarantino one since I have the jacket, that and the Practical one. What a contrast mix.

  52. 2 December 2008 4:14 pm

    La C,

    You really outdid yourself this time! I loved this article and I hope you do more. 🙂

  53. 2 December 2008 4:58 pm

    I absolutely enjoyed reading these stories! and i love the outfits too. I would wear them all depending on the day!
    And thanks for stopping my by blog!

  54. thebaglady permalink
    2 December 2008 9:15 pm

    i was a bit bored so i read this post again 🙂 i can’t get enough of it!!

  55. 3 December 2008 3:34 pm

    everything abby minus the headband ♥

  56. 3 December 2008 6:57 pm

    Wow, these are perect!

  57. 8 December 2008 10:22 pm

    Girl, aren’t you smart! You always have the most clever posts, I’m jealous.

  58. 11 December 2008 12:42 pm

    I want to be Eloise or Lola. I already own a sequined hoody (silver), and chunky framed glasses (red not black though), so I’m part way there! But really, either way I get a Chanel bag, so it’s all good!

    x

  59. 14 December 2008 5:18 pm

    Honestly, I can’t choose – I think the skirt is styled terrifically, 6 different ways. Now all I need is the budget to buy everything!

Trackbacks

  1. le petit examen de vogue, #5 « La Couturier
  2. the bag lady. « La Couturier
  3. currently craving… « la couturier
  4. Le Petit Examen de Vogue, #5 • A Bit Coquettish
  5. The Bag Lady • A Bit Coquettish
  6. Currently Craving • A Bit Coquettish

Leave a comment