Skip to content

Designer Looks for Less!

1 September 2008
I’ve noticed that everything I’ve posted was pretty much unattainable, monetarily (at least for me). I think that’s what makes magazines only fun to look at, but leave you wishing that you were like this celebrity or that one – nothing seems realistic! So here goes, my looks for less. Everything shown here can be purchased on lulus.com – an amazinggg online shop that sells clothing, accessories, and shoes at reasonable (and by reasonable, I mean pretty darn good) prices!
You all may have heard of Kenneth Jay Lane; only recently his designs have gained popularity amongst celebrities like Hilary Duff, who accessorize with his unique enamel bangles with crystal details in the shapes of exotic animals. The pieces are truly beautiful; I have been coveting them for quite some time, only, unwilling to part with the some $400 required to make his bracelets my own. But good news! lulus.com has bracelets just like KJL, only at (drumroll, please) an amazing price of $16!! =) Get one or two & stack them up! After all, this season’s all about the statement jewelry. Add these bracelets to a monochromatic outfit for a pop of color and a unique look!

While we’re on the topic of animal inspired jewelry, Cartier had a collection of stunning panther/lion rings. It was a while back, but bring back those gorgeous pieces with this bold, crystal encrusted ring (also from lulus.com) at an unbelievable price of $14 versus that of a couple, say, thousand! If you decide to wear such bold cocktail rings, try to limit the number of rings you wear to just that piece; too much will be overwhelming and may look a little tack. Opt for simple jewelry; a thin, simple bangle or chain on the wrists and a small pendant around the neck is fine; but remember, balance is key!

Stella McCartney is one of my favorite designers of all time; everything she creates is wearable, feminine, beautifully constructed, and so elegant! The downside? The price tag (that seems to be the issue with most cases…). One of my favorite pieces for her Spring Collection was this ruffle trim blouse in the daintiest corally pink; a little less ruffles would have made it even better, but, nonetheless, I loved it. Lulu’s has a great mini dress much like Stella’s in a gorgeous taupe with less ruffles and an affordable price! Due to its satin-like sheen, this dress is perfect for cocktail hour or for a more formal evening occasion. Pair it with pumps, grap a clutch, pull your hair into a chignon and you are ready to go!

Victoria Beckham’s closet is very much enviable; her style is much sought after, and her endless collections of designer labels are highly coveted (such as the two million dollar Hermes Birkin collection!) The majority of us, however, don’t have the luxury to spend so ravishly (though we all dream of it) – which is why a look for less is makes us all happy: we’re still stylish, and our wallets still full. I love the simplicity and girliness of this dress Victoria wears; it’s chic and perfect to just throw on and run out! I found a similar dress in beige on lulus.com; it’s a bit pricey for some, but in comparison to the hundreds or thousands Mrs. Beckham spent, $62 seems like nothing! I’m not too fond of the oxfords paired with the dress, as shown in the picture from the site – it just doesn’t work for me. I would suggest pairing it with pointy-toed pumps; the sharp lines from the shoe will contrast the smoother lines and silouhette of the sleeve.

Here are a couple of other picks that I adore!

I love the sweetness of this dress; it’s girly, with a mini hemline and flutter sleeves and in a delicious raspberry color. Yet when you turn around, it’s a little surprise – a keyhole gives a peek of skin for that demure sexiness. The silouhette is fabulous as well; the boxy fit hides the tummy whilst excentuating the chest (yes!). Modestly sexy…it’s the way to go!

I’m not exactly sure why I’m in love with these Jeffrey Campbell heels; I know they’re a bit odd to most, but something about the gladiator-like straps look so stunning! The more I look at it, the more I want it. The vintage-wash gold gives a nice metallic sheen without being obnoxiously reflective. How to wear it? I’m picturing it with medium wash skinny jeans, a v-neck American Apparel tee in white, and camel colored leather bag (think loose hobos/satchels) to match the wooden heel, and piles of chains (as seen on the runway, just not as bulky). Perhaps top it off with a black fedora?These shoes are also found at Urban Outfitters, but UO has them at $125 – it’s cheaper at lulus! I’m also quite in love with the leopard print wallet…just because I love leopard print (though it can be quite tacky in some cases) and because my vintage Gucci wallet feels like it is just about to burst.

xoxo.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. 5 September 2008 11:28 am

    Great finds!

  2. Nancy permalink
    5 September 2008 11:29 am

    Awesome collection..! I really like these animal inspired jewelry and wooden heel shoes.

  3. 5 September 2008 10:02 pm

    wow! what kind of designer shoes is that? the gold one? I love it!

  4. 5 September 2008 10:06 pm

    Great post, I love Lulu*s as well! It’s a pity they don’t ship to my country because I’d definitely buy tons of stuff from them. The Miranda button-down dress and the Jeffery Campbell heels are gorgeous!

    Thanks a lot for your comment! You should definitely try your own stud DIY – I’d love to see them! I’ve added you to my blogroll as well 🙂

  5. 5 September 2008 10:12 pm

    Loved that post! Your picks are always super stylish.

    xxxxx

  6. 5 September 2008 10:14 pm

    Great post 🙂

  7. 6 September 2008 6:47 am

    that bracelet is beautiful. i shall bang my head on the wall now for i saw a similar piece at Topshop but I hesistated and now its gone. what luck!

  8. 6 September 2008 6:49 am

    those bracelets are love!!!!!

  9. 6 September 2008 7:03 am

    Hi! Thanks for your comments on our latest post hahaha 🙂 We would love to exchange links 🙂 I added you to our blog roll!

  10. 7 September 2008 5:44 am

    loving all of these!! and your blog. adding it to my list.

    also wanted to say thanks so much for your kind comment last month about my mom. the support means alot.

    with a kiss!
    D

  11. 7 September 2008 8:22 am

    hey, i fixed the link it was no problem! liking the new blog, those gold shoes are fab (:

  12. 7 September 2008 8:23 am

    oh by the way would you mind linking me 2, thanks (:

  13. 7 September 2008 9:06 am

    Thank you very much for your kind words
    and you’ll love the photos I did today

    I changed your link

    write mine like in google : STYLE AND THE CITY . COM – PARIS

    inform you of the change

    thank you very much

    keep on doing your great work

    Kamel
    STYLE AND THE CITY . COM – PARIS

  14. enkha permalink
    7 September 2008 4:42 pm

    Hi gorgeous!
    It’s no problem at all, I’ve made the changes for you! I’m now fashionbirdcage.com … dropped the wordpress!

    I hope you enjoy it here!

    xxx

  15. 7 September 2008 8:36 pm

    thank you for all the lovely comments and for the link to lulu’s. i updated my links. stay fab, xx.

  16. 7 September 2008 9:35 pm

    oh i so like your blog and guess what, i am huge hello kitty fan! its hard me to admit as a hardcore rock girl but i have tons of hello kitty stuff 😀 hih! so that profile pic catches my eye!
    wanna change links? just info me on my bloggie 🙂

    hugs!

  17. 7 September 2008 9:36 pm

    i absolutely love posts like these!! jeffrey campbell shoes are such a great alternative to the overpriced high end ones.have you seen the ‘burbs’ pair by him?

  18. 7 September 2008 9:39 pm

    i actually like the panther ring a little better! and i changed the link for you 🙂

  19. 7 September 2008 9:44 pm

    wow. thanks for sharing this wonderful deals.

  20. 7 September 2008 9:46 pm

    i linked you in that new addres 🙂

  21. 7 September 2008 10:29 pm

    Oooh, Topshop has been stocking Kenneth Jay Lane knockoffs too! And even though they’re borderline trashy and tacky with the OTT gold, and bling, I must admit I’ve bagged quite a few bracelets and rings! It’s my inner ghetto mama coming out, I tell ya.

    Love your blog by the way! Cheers!

  22. 7 September 2008 11:25 pm

    No problem for the link
    I have fixed that …
    Keep on blogging !

    Fred the Mole

  23. 8 September 2008 12:52 am

    seasonal lust – i just searched for the burbs by jeffrey campbell. they are sooo hot! i love both the black and white…i can’t decide which one i like better!

    to all – thanks so much!

    much love, xoxo

  24. 8 September 2008 9:41 pm

    LOVE that ring

  25. 10 September 2008 6:09 pm

    those animal bracelets are great and i love the price too

  26. 14 September 2008 5:24 pm

    This is an amazing post. Just the information I’m looking for.

    Thanks for dropping by my blog.

    Have a great week!

  27. 22 September 2008 3:09 am

    I love the jeffrey campbell gold cage strap heel 🙂

  28. 27 September 2008 7:01 pm

    i love the cleoptra tiger bracelet ^^ n.the jeffrey strap heel ^^ btw i included you to one of the chicest bloggers here in blog.com jus for fun>for fashion addicts exclusives. ^ ^n if you don’t wanna be included jus tell
    me, it’s cool 😀 leave a comment and i will do too ^ ^

Leave a comment