Skip to content

the things i’d do to be a chanel girl…

2 June 2010

Chanel has a cult following. And rightfully so.

It’s Chanel. C h a n e l . The one and only fashion house which everyone undoubtedly knows of, and can spot its [easily and illegally reproducible] double C logo. The brain child of Gabrielle Coco Chanel, and now under the reign of Karl Lagerfeld. You can’t quite help but be sucked into the hype and [happily] fettered by the chains of their classic 2.55 quilted handbags and a whiff of the only perfume (need I even say the Chanel No. 5?) a woman should ever wear. Even if you tried resisting the magnetic pull of the Chanel-obssesed cult of the fashion world. You’d fail, miserably, and rather painfully. There is no use in trying to avoid the sequined hot shorts and Jade nail varnish from the Spring/Summer collection of 2009 (I think); believe me. Personal experience never lies.

But seriously. The things I’d do to wander through Coco’s home, to be Betty and Shini, to flip through Karl Lagerfeld’s sketchbook and inspiration notes, to saunter the streets of Paris eating delicate macarons from paper bags carrying a cream-colored 2.55 in the crook of my arm. I’d sip café au lait from the shoppe on the corner below my apartment, leaving lipstick stains from my Rouge Coco, and nibbling on croissants du chocolat whilst flipping through French Vogue. Ah, c’est la vie.

{ image source: g o o g l e s e a r c h i m a g e s }

Anyway. This advert is perhaps one of my favorite Chanel has ever done for its cosmetics line; Vanessa Paradis looks absolutely stunning in this campaign. I’m beyond obsessed with this particular shot – it’s a breath of fresh air: feminine, effortless, sensual, yet effervescent and whimsical at the same time. Amazing, isn’t it, how the one image can capture the very essence of both Chanel and the French woman impeccably so. From the simple updo – sophisticated, chic, and effortless – to the flawless complexion and makeup, au naturel.

I really am infatuated with this advert. I can’t stop admiring it, even as I write this. I want it hanging by my vanity, to inspire and remind me of this innately fabulous and carefree French woman where sensuality is achieved without much effort. I’m quite enamored with the light dusting of a taupe shadow (NARS’ Bali eyeshadow, perhaps?) over the lids paired with mascara – liner would only darken and make heavy the look. And that lipstick. Incroyable. I need it.

Which shade is she wearing? Could it be No. 5 (five is the lucky number, after all), Mademoiselle? Let me know. Even though I’d buy Mademoiselle just for the name (and color, of course)…

bisous,

La C.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 June 2010 11:01 pm

    This is one of my favorite ads, as well. Chanel is pure brilliance!

  2. 2 June 2010 11:12 pm

    Beautiful ad!

  3. 3 June 2010 12:52 am

    Ι love your post!

  4. 3 June 2010 12:57 pm

    Yes, it is No.5 and its still sold out everywhere.

    At least at all of the stores in my area.

  5. 3 June 2010 1:57 pm

    Vanessa is the PERFECT *femme* for Chanel! Gorgeous ad campaign.

  6. 3 June 2010 3:16 pm

    I think I’m a Chanel devotee for life now: two bags, sunglasses, perfume. The Vanessa Paradis ads are so beautiful. Have you seen her TV spot where she sings “What A Day For A Daydream” while putting on lipstick? They totally made me want to check out the Rouge Coco lipsticks in person and I ended up buying one in Ruban Rose. The formula is very moisturizing–it literally feels like lip balm.

  7. 6 June 2010 12:45 am

    i am getting my very first 2.55 in a matter of week s- it has been bought fo rme as a bday present from my mom and she’s arriving soon! i can’t wait. the leather is sooo soft on it and it’s the ultimate luxury. i’ve always had an obsession too with the nail polish – it’s always cutting edge yet classy and there are never any shades just like it.

    this ad is wonderful. simply shot, beautiful french woman, and the lips are ones you’ll remember forever.

  8. 6 June 2010 8:07 pm

    I think my number one fantasy just manifested within this post. CHANEL is perfection.

  9. 10 June 2010 8:07 am

    I really really love this chanel ad! The first time I saw it was on a Vogue magazine in April. I stood at the ad for 15 minutes obsessed with the colors, the tons, Vanessa. It was a magical moment 🙂 a chanel one!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention the things i’d do to be a chanel girl… « la couturier -- Topsy.com
  2. a bit coquettish » the things i’d do to be a chanel girl…
  3. a bit coquettish » pearls of wisdom | wanting what you can’t have.
  4. The things I’d do to be a Chanel girl… | a bit coquettish
  5. Pearls of Wisdom | Wanting what you can’t have | a bit coquettish
  6. Coco Rouge | Carabesque Life - Where Style Meets Poetry

Leave a comment