Skip to content

maintenant | no. 006

3 March 2010

I do think it’s safe to say that I write more than the average blogger; yes, people are more inclined to re-visit those of pictorial aesthetics over those with paragraphs of words, but I am quite alright with that. I like to write, I like to go on tangents, and I do like the dainty tip-tapping of my keyboard whenever I spew out posts like this and this. It’s rewarding on my end, and hopefully for yours too. Regardless, it is my blog (ha-ha!), and I feel an obligation to write paragraphs worth of  w o r d s . “Brevity is the essence of lingerie,” said Dorothy Parker. Since I am not of that category, brevity, in turn, is not of my essence.

But to give your tired eyes a break, I’ve included two images below for your viewing pleasure. Seen everywhere, and now here too; I typically avoid redundancy, but simply could not resist. Take a good look at those Miu Miu clunkers of Spring/Summer 2010. So wrong, but so right. Childishly girlish, but sophisticated at the same time. It possesses all the qualities that would have been tacky, yet somehow, by some miracle (or genius?) chance, Ms. Prada had it all right.

I do plan on owning wearing these this summer. With little bandage minis and a semi-sheer, loose button-up tucked haphazardly in.

{ images’ source:  t u m b l r }

{loving…}

fashion toast | la rue de kenza | ellen claesson | le cheap c’est chic | lashblast by covergirl | “airy fairy” lipstick by rimmel london | vaseline’s cocoa butter lotion | st. ive’s apricot scrub |wearing just mascara + inner corner highlight | hip-hop open classes on tuesday & thursday nights! | “eat you up” by BoA; the choreography in the music video; the combination i learned in class | “dance with me” by 112 + the choreography learned | “say aah” by trey songz + the choreography learned |dancing | this lullaby by sarah dessen (i am so similar to remy, it’s uncanny!) | a portrait of the artist as a young man by james joyce (brilliant, brilliant novel and author) | book club with the girlfriends | insomniac bouts | bananas | yogurt + honey + oatmeal | reducing to the bare minimum and just carrying a clutch! | proud of this | step up | sex and the city | thigh-high socks | etc.

What are you loving at the moment?

bisous,

La C.

P.S.: Read part I of “Defining Style” and be on the lookout for part II soon!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. 3 March 2010 11:42 pm

    Those shoes are gorge!

    I am currently loving:

    swimming outdoors/having my mom in town/drinking coffee hubby just made me/not working/going through all the fashion week shows/Reese’s cereal my sister got me from the US/my growing belly/sleeping in/canteloupe/cupcakes/etc.

    🙂
    xx

  2. 3 March 2010 11:55 pm

    I use to write long paragraphs in school [history/political science majoy], and my english professor defined my writing as “freighting”… because I write freighting sentences. Freighting sentences are basically one lonnnnnngg sentence, separated by commas. I’ve since learned to tone it down a bit in writing for law school but they still pop up every so often in blogs =)

    You write very well, and i enjoy reading it, so don’t let anyone tell you otherwise!

  3. 3 March 2010 11:56 pm

    Love those shoes!

    Currently loving: blogging, thigh-high socks, nineties fashion (particularly inspired by Clueless), florals, Mary Janes and t-straps, Sugarlips tank tops, HerCampus.com, infinitewhimsy.blogspot.com, the movie An Education, Montreal (and McGill), Nutella and strawberry crêpes with my dad. 🙂

  4. 4 March 2010 12:21 am

    what you wrote really stroke a cord with me. blogging is like everything else, some people doing it because it’s a trend, some poeple do it because they love it; some people love to post pictures and some love to write – however, some do no do what they feel because it’s not what other do, and some, as yourself, do what you like, hence it becomes an extension of who you are!!!

    keep on writing – i love to read things that provoke my mind, xx

  5. 4 March 2010 4:41 am

    I never know what to write in posts, however I far prefer having something to read in a blog; something to go alongside the pictures, no matter how pretty. Hence why I find myself returning to yours over and over. Your insightfulness and way with words is fantastic x

  6. 4 March 2010 3:18 pm

    That’s the exact silhouette I’ve been craving in shoes lately, except the pair I have my eye on is by Chie Mihara.

  7. 4 March 2010 3:56 pm

    I love this Miu Miu line. 🙂

  8. mim permalink
    4 March 2010 10:38 pm

    im loving that samantha harris is getting some exposure! (model in your photo) 🙂

  9. 4 March 2010 11:29 pm

    Those shoes are getting ALL the press lately!

  10. 5 March 2010 12:39 am

    Those shoes are great, they steal the focus off of the rest of the model, which is amazing.
    Currently, I am loving………you! haha.

  11. 5 March 2010 9:41 am

    aw thanks for the comment, hun. thanks for leaving it so that i found you. 🙂 love your blog as well. keep up the writing!!

    xoxo

  12. 5 March 2010 5:38 pm

    want those shoes!

  13. 5 March 2010 6:41 pm

    platforms and sling backs – i die!

  14. 5 March 2010 7:50 pm

    miu miu is so gooooood. love those shoes especially!

    xx raez

  15. 6 March 2010 1:55 pm

    Though more and more humans do not read (as much as before) anymore, I love to read and I also like the way, the style you write, which means I appreciate your long texts 🙂
    I hope you get the chance to wear this collection, it is cute and lovely.

  16. 6 March 2010 10:19 pm

    i have a few miu miu shoes and they are fabulous eye-catchers! this is certainly a statement pair, and they are fabulous. i hope you do get them!
    xoxo alison

  17. 7 March 2010 10:57 am

    I agree, these shoes are cra-zy !!!!
    But yet I adore even more your written pieces, last post was so interesting, your writing is so subtle and also very ‘efficient’ !! ;D

Trackbacks

  1. Quick Way Of Preventing Aging | Healthy Baby Boomers

Leave a comment