Skip to content

ysl p a r i s i e n n e

8 July 2009

Kate Moss for YSL Parisienne; ph Craig McDean

My favorite perfume ad of all time, without a doubt.

A stunning shot of Kate holding a pink rose with the Eiffel Tower behind her, the sky a beautiful melange of gray, purple, and pink, taken by photographer Craig McDean. I have never fallen so hard for an ad campaign until now – true love? Perhaps. Kate looks magnificent, of course. A messy updo and smokey eyes never fails to impress, or portray subdued sensuality. The all-black is very much Yves Saint Laurent sexed up, a blazer casually thrown over bare shoulders, a corset-like dress (or is it a two piece ensemble?) Regardless, maintenant, I am simply dying to test the perfume. At the same time, however, I am hesitant – I do hope for my sake that the scent is as amazing as I imagine it to be.

I see this photo and I think light, yet musky. Alluringly sexy, timeless, a hint of buttery croissants and chocolat. [ Darling Alizé shall understand (; ]And macarons, of course. Sweetened sensuality heightened with sophisticated classicality.

bisous,

La C.

P.S.: Thank you, Kels, for passing to me the “One Lovely Blog Award“! If you haven’t already, do visit her blog for loveliness; I’ve written a guest post for The Anthology, entitled The {Faux} New Yorker.

51 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 July 2009 9:50 pm

    This is totally gorgeous…thanks for sharing!

  2. Con Brio permalink
    8 July 2009 10:07 pm

    Wow! So sophisticated and dripping with glamor. I would love to wear that outfit. I have no fabulous place to wear it though. Here in Southern California, everyone is too casual for their own good. Which makes me stick out (in a negative way) whenever I go out and want to look sophisticated. 😦

    ^Sorry, just had to share.
    That fragrance is so beautifully bottled. Hopefully it smells that amazing.

    • 8 July 2009 10:08 pm

      Con Brio: If I could own her ensemble I would die happy! (: Ah, I totally agree. New Jersey is quite the same (sans “The Real Housewives of New Jersey” areas).

      bisous!

  3. 8 July 2009 10:29 pm

    Wow! That’s such an incredible ad. I love it. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  4. 8 July 2009 10:44 pm

    SO beautiful…and regarding your dilemma, with law, you can always move into journalism (fashion journalism as well?), I have a friend who is now working at a magazine, and we studied law together 🙂
    xx

  5. 8 July 2009 10:51 pm

    Gorgeous ad, I so wish I could even a quarter as beautiful as she is here! I love the design of that bottle, it resembles a pretty pink uncut gem! I bet it just smells of roses and Paris.

  6. 8 July 2009 11:12 pm

    So unbelievably gorgeous. I simply adore the messy updo. Sadly, I have not perfected the chic coiff myself – regardless of the fact that it doesn’t require being perfect. 🙂

  7. 8 July 2009 11:27 pm

    Kate Moss looks great in that ad!

  8. 9 July 2009 12:19 am

    I agree with everything you said! I love pictures of Paris and eerything about this picture is magnificent. The dress, the colors, the Eiffel Tower…

  9. 9 July 2009 1:00 am

    YSL gotta be loving it supreme not to mention my love for Kate Moss =]]]

  10. thebaglady permalink
    9 July 2009 3:06 am

    Mucho congrats on the award – much deserved, doh!

    And WOW I need to try that A.S.A.P! I love your description of what you imagine the scent to be; I love it so much that I wish YOU, darling LC, could create that very perfume! I would buy two at a time!!

  11. 9 July 2009 3:20 am

    Oh KM is stunning…thanks for sharing Honey!

    XoXo

  12. 9 July 2009 5:17 am

    Oui, belle photo de retour de soirée, à l’aube… J’aime beaucoup croiser les créatures de la nuit. Et pour les macarons, mon parfum préféré est le caramel au beurre salé. Un délice. Bises from Paris.

    • 9 July 2009 5:18 am

      la flore et la faune: Oh la la, que son goût délicieux! Je dois essayer un jour! bisous!

  13. 9 July 2009 8:24 am

    that ad is so gorgeous!!

  14. 9 July 2009 8:34 am

    Oh Kate is very lovely. How can she always looks so divine!

  15. 9 July 2009 8:44 am

    This is such a gorgeous ad campaign! I adore advertisments and this is no exception! I am quite in love with the bottle.. Wouldn’t mind that sitting on my dressing table!

    xx

  16. 9 July 2009 9:10 am

    It’s a beautiful campaign, but it’s hard to beat Chanel’s Audrey Tatou ad.

  17. Clare Brown permalink
    9 July 2009 10:20 am

    Fabulous! I hope the scent lives up to the beautiful way you described your expectation! Perhaps it will smell so divine you can make it one of your signature scents :0)

    Cheers!
    Clare

    • 9 July 2009 10:21 am

      Clare Brown: I do hope it smells as good as I imagine it to be – because if so, it seems to be the perfect scent for me! (:

      bisous!

  18. 9 July 2009 10:20 am

    She looks so young here! ❤ her!

  19. Kelsey permalink
    9 July 2009 10:39 am

    It’s gorgeous and so is your blog so you’re very welcome for the “One Lovely Blog” award. You certainly deserve it.

  20. 9 July 2009 10:46 am

    ohlala, paris! yes, kate is gorgeous. xx

  21. 9 July 2009 10:48 am

    Gorgeous! Love that bustier dress!
    And congrats on your award, darling!

    xoxox,
    CC

  22. 9 July 2009 11:40 am

    oh, i love it. you’re right, hopefully the perfume is just as good as the ad portrays…

  23. 9 July 2009 1:04 pm

    oh god you’re right! it is a fantastic photo
    niice

  24. 9 July 2009 1:13 pm

    that woman can make anything look AMAZING

    totally need to try that scent..i have not even seen it!

  25. 9 July 2009 3:44 pm

    Oooh, I must admit Kate looks GREAT ! And I love the composition of the picture !

    Btw I wanted to say I’m so glad you changed your layout too, I was scared mine was too ‘ La Couturier ‘… but it also claims we had both great taste, I guess XD

  26. 9 July 2009 3:48 pm

    oh she looks so stylish and glamorous!!!

  27. 9 July 2009 3:50 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous.

    Love Grace.

  28. 9 July 2009 3:57 pm

    it’s a great ad, i love the tones

  29. 9 July 2009 4:18 pm

    I do love the background of this photo! Simply stunning and it just makes me more curious to know what it smells like! xxoxoxo

  30. Alize Morand permalink
    9 July 2009 5:08 pm

    Indeed I understand! 🙂 I love your depiction of this beautiful ad, and your guess about the fragrance – which I totally agree with, what else? Apparently, it is quite sweet, described as ‘gourmand’ (so you’re right with the macaroon & chocolate!) and based on the scent of the rose – which is why Kate is holding one.

    This image is so feminine and the outfit perfect – Kate looks demure and innocent, but the outfit is pure fire 😉 Oh and the hairdo is very Parisienne, that’s for sure! Thanks so much for sharing! Bisous Darling! xx

    • 9 July 2009 5:09 pm

      Alize: Mm – I really do imagine it to be the perfect perfume pour moi – and I can only hope it smells as deliciously alluring as the ad portrays it to be! (:

  31. 9 July 2009 5:27 pm

    is this a new ad? kate looks absolutely stunning, you’re totally right – it’s an amazing photo. ahh i miss paris. love the cruise wardrobe advice that you gave a few posts back! xoxo

  32. 9 July 2009 5:43 pm

    Looks lovely and glamorous! Wish there was a dark shot in hell I will ever see the stuff in person, but your description holds me over!

  33. 9 July 2009 6:42 pm

    Do you think if I wear it I will look as gorg?

  34. 9 July 2009 6:42 pm

    Ah ha

  35. 9 July 2009 6:45 pm

    Such a stunning shot! I really do love the colours of the sky, and wow the composition is wonderful. Gah, so need to smell this some time soon.

  36. 9 July 2009 7:12 pm

    I hadn’t heard of this perfume, I must really find it and smell it…

  37. 9 July 2009 7:15 pm

    oh YSL they’re so bold and delicious. I love the way they take classic ideas and give them a sexy edge.
    Thanks for the comment dear!
    -BK

  38. 9 July 2009 8:06 pm

    Gorgeous ad – you’re right, the mussed-up hair and the smoky eye are subtle yet stunning, portraying complete fabulousness without looking like one is trying too hard. Love it!

  39. 10 July 2009 9:03 am

    Gorgeous ad! The way you describe this perfume makes me want to go buy myself a bottle 🙂

    – laur @ neonmango

  40. 10 July 2009 1:22 pm

    Kate Moss looks great!

  41. 10 July 2009 1:24 pm

    She looks incredible pretty, I saw the picture before but I think I like it more with the complete ad, like the parfume in one side. I think it is a good scent, one you won’t forget easily, like the ad, like Kate

  42. 10 July 2009 3:28 pm

    Thes photos are really incredible!

    FM~FP~AF

  43. kristine permalink
    11 July 2009 12:55 pm

    is this out yet?! because if it is i’m getting one ASAP.

    ugh your descriptions could probably make a crappy perfume sound like it smells heavenly! 😉

  44. 12 July 2009 3:57 am

    Kate Moss looks great……….A L W A Y S !!!!!!!!!!

  45. abdcforever permalink
    12 July 2009 7:22 pm

    damn she looks hot!!

    too bad i just bought a bottle of vera wang’s rocker princess perfume…

  46. 12 July 2009 7:24 pm

    That shot is indeed stunning!

    The background is spectacular.

  47. 16 July 2009 8:46 am

    gorgeously stunning pics..love love love them!!

Leave a comment