Skip to content

it’s [officially] summer!

28 June 2009

… now that school has been over for a week, and the weather is finally summer-y!

[Thank goooooodness.]

An  a s i d e : Loving the Matthew Williamson for H&M campaign, starring none other than Daria Werbowy. Oceans of greens and blues occasionally crashing upon white sands somewhere exotic, somewhere wild. Neon colors from yellows to purples to turquoises make for a modern, if not eclectic, take on tribal inspired fashions. Something about the juxtaposition of raw, wild beauty and futuristic materialism is hauntingly beautiful: roughly braided hair with highlighter colored denim and crocheted bikinis; and neon-colored kaftans with vintage gold cuffs and bangles. This summer’s inspiration? All the above. [cue Maino’s single…]

Matthew Williamson for H&M 2

Images source: t h e  f a s h i o n  s p o t // Matthew Williamson for H&M campaign // model: Daria Werbowy

the summer to-do list.

make milkshakes and wear plastic heart-framed sunglasses with fifties-inspired coiffed & curled hair wear hair au naturel in its waviness – embrace natural beauty! find coral nail lacquer hunt down more cocktail rings for my growing collection find/buy the perfect matte pink MAC lipstick wear [red] lipstick! throw a 60’s/80’s themed party get that summer glow work on my inspiration journal paint & sketch again catch up on tv shows have slumber parties and movie marathons with the girlies meet a cute boy have fun volunteering at the courthouse organize my room tackle reader request emails focus on SATs & other such fun things read more books visit the library more often (i do love the atmosphere) in the hopes of (a) finding lovely books to read (b) some quiet time for blogging (c) talking to the cute boy who’s always there find the perfect black, leather gladiator sandals buy white espadrille wedges atlantic city with the best (remember last year?) bake cupcakes & cakes go to nyc more often enjoy summer!

Matthew Williamson for H&M 3

and loving…

MAC’s style warrior lipsticks (need them all!) & their packaging MAC lipsticks anything coral dapper kid & alize morand‘s blogs blogging, of course youtubing and discovering the talented erika lions, tigers, & bears sung by jazmine sullivan golden kiwis & white peaches my ruffled black bikini denim cutoffs loose tanks & sheer tees dressing up for working at the courthouse karaoke-ing by myself relaxing tackling diy projects how much faith my dad has in God and His plans regardless of how hard things have been for us the past few years sleeping with the windows open watching the sun rise making pancakes in the morning these little pink hearts.

Enough about me, now about you.

What’s on your summer to-do list? And things you love now?

bisous,

La C.

P.S.: Hillary over at Stylecaster, a fabulous invite-only site, offered La Couturier readers an exclusive invitation to join Stylecaster! Join here!

65 Comments leave one →
  1. kristine permalink
    28 June 2009 6:28 pm

    ahh i love these posts of yours! fashionable analyses (like your aside) & things you love.

    summer plans: puerto rico & mexico with my family, working, & chilling with friends!

    loving: your blog (duhh!), neon yellow nail polish, ruffled skirts, bikinis from VS

  2. kristine permalink
    28 June 2009 6:29 pm

    p.s.: WOOT! 1st comment!! =) hehe.

  3. 28 June 2009 6:33 pm

    Work and plenty of days at the lake building my much needed tan!

    xo

  4. 28 June 2009 6:33 pm

    Summer to-do list: Meet a cute boy. Find the perfect pair of slouchy boots. Accumulate more cocktail rings – my collection isn’t big enough yet! Study for CLEP College Algebra test. Find a fabulous summer frock. Write, write, write! Blog. Catch up on Gossip Girl. Watch Marie Antoinette, Almost Famous, and Garden State. Again. Read amazing books. Organize…everything! Get some rest. Reconnect with old friends. Create inspiration collages of my favorite outfits and accessories. Bake delicious desserts. Work on a novel. First find, then figure out how to walk in, wedges! Spend the day in my pajamas. Hit the beach! Have the best summer ever!

    Loving: Off-the-shoulder tees. Flirty knee-length skirts. Lauren Conrad. Candace Bushnell. Lady Gaga. Lily Allen. Little pink heart bullet points. Blogging. Online shopping. Leighton Meester’s singing voice. Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush Lip Gloss. Alessandra Ambrosio. Europe. Paris. Wildfox Couture. LnA. Boyfriend tees. Tracy Feith for Target. Fashion boots. Erin Fetherston. Eating string cheese at room temperature. Sitting under my desk at work. Skinny jeans. Mini skirts.

    Love this post! 🙂

  5. 28 June 2009 6:36 pm

    Ahh I’m so jealous!! we’re in mid-winter here in New Zealand and it’s FREEZING! Those pictures are stunning and have me craving summer more than ever (only half a year now!! haha)

  6. 28 June 2009 6:58 pm

    LOVE this post! And your Summer to-do list is fab! How lovely to read of your dad’s faith in God, my dad is the same 🙂
    xx
    CC

    PS. Wish it were Summer, I’m now in Winter…and no holidays in sight 😦

  7. 28 June 2009 7:05 pm

    Those little pink hearts are so cute! I love the your list and definitely making more milkshakes part! I’m going to visit some new places in town that I’ve never been before and go to art galleries, drink tea, watching sunsets more (the beach is right across from where I live!) and try and learn how to surf. xxoxoxoxoo

  8. 28 June 2009 7:29 pm

    Summer-to-do: wear silk head wraps.

    Love Grace.

  9. Clare Brown permalink
    28 June 2009 8:10 pm

    Summer plans: Roam NYC and find fabulous summer outfits, finish my master’s degree, live, love, laugh… oh and plenty of SPF.
    love this post
    xo,
    Clare

  10. Rachel permalink
    28 June 2009 8:15 pm

    My Summer to do list:
    Write a song (guitar parts, harmony, & all), take yoga/pilates classes, go to H&M (for the first time!), stop wearing foundation for good, develop a style (Bohemian, girly, rocker, I just can’t seem to choose, even though I know I want a constant style), and develop a breezy, carefree, happy-go-lucky attitude.

    Currently Loving:
    Wedges, pink lips, quirky earrings (Betsey Johnson), diet pepsi, facial masks, hot tea (my best friend who is from England makes delicious breakfast tea), Lois Duncan and Sarah Dessen books, navy blue nail polish, la couturier (haha, had to add that one), and finally, I am also currently loving NO SCHOOL! 🙂

    -Rachel

    http://www.rdiane.wordpress.com

  11. Debz permalink
    28 June 2009 8:39 pm

    hey gorgeous 😉
    my new found best coral shade ‘sophisticaded susanna’ and it’s by the h&m new beauty line..it’s more on pink side of it but still so pretty..go check it out if you can and then tell me what you think ..

    xo

    p.s. your blog get’s better at every post
    congrats darling

  12. 28 June 2009 8:43 pm

    oh summer to do lists are always a must! i think i need to start making them daily so i can prioritize though, i always managed to get side tracked or lazy.

    mine includes:

    (i love your meeting a cute boy…i’ll take a bold, chivalrous, yet doesnt try to hard ;D MAN haha), exercising – i’ve taken up hulahooping again, and hopefully some jogging, making my inspiration book, sketching, summer reading (i’ll tell you about that sometime), finding the perfect affordable black strappy platforms, and just catching up and hanging out with friends.

    its scary to believe that it’s already july though!

  13. 28 June 2009 9:07 pm

    Judging by your last post i thik you really love Daria.. is good! to have a model muse and admiration.. mine is Agyness (Deyn obviously)

    And in my what-to-do summer list I’ll probably include buy some clothes, increase my style, read and write more, have the commitement to continue with the blog, (a bad habit of mine is to close blogs or just leave them). Find love! And watch Harry Potter and 500 days of Summer

  14. Maisha permalink
    28 June 2009 9:55 pm

    1) Yay slumber parties!
    2) You have enough boys. Share the love.
    3) Yay AC!
    4) Haven’t we established that the sun rising makes the world colder?
    5) I’m holding you to the whole…we must make this summer and next year awesome thing.

  15. 28 June 2009 11:29 pm

    Beautiful photos. I hope you are enjoying your summer so far. I went to two parties this weekend. Cheers!

  16. thebaglady permalink
    28 June 2009 11:32 pm

    I love your interpretation of the campaign!

    To do: Catch up on shows, be more adventurous with lipstick colors, throw parties, invest in Louboutins (suede boots!)

    Loving: you, your blog, guacemole & chips

  17. 29 June 2009 12:03 am

    the editorial is sweet, but when i saw the collection in stores, i was sadly disappointed. can’t win em all, i guess! ps, there’s an awesome coral nail polish that i picked up at urban, you should definitely check out

  18. 29 June 2009 12:21 am

    I love the first picture! All these colors are so pretty 🙂

  19. 29 June 2009 12:24 am

    hey lovely! i adore this post. great lists…and inspirational too. and wow i’m excited about matthew williamson + h&m. i guess one thing on my summer to do list is to get me some of THAT stuff!

  20. 29 June 2009 12:58 am

    I gotta say I have been in love with this campaign for a long time and was gonna write on it myself I love seeing that somebody else thought it was worth picking up too =]

  21. 29 June 2009 7:33 am

    What beautiul images!
    Now since I live in Australia (I do wish I was back home, In the summer the daylight goes on all night!Still wishing Mother dearest would change her idea about living here) it is winter here.
    I have yet to decide my ideas for this coming season. Yet find all there is too be inspired by, discover new loves and give hopeless dreams hope!

    xx

  22. 29 June 2009 7:42 am

    Ah these images are gorgeous!! Such a fabulous blog you have too! Thank you for stopping by mine, i am delighted to have found you!

  23. 29 June 2009 8:34 am

    Ooo I love your summer to do list. The embracing my natural hair texture is definitely on mine! And lots of relaxing…I’m way to uptight most of the time!

  24. 29 June 2009 9:49 am

    I will send positive vibes your way so that you and the cute boy at the library end up hanging out outside the library. Bring him some of your cupcakes. 😀

  25. 29 June 2009 9:51 am

    You make me so happy! I was just looking at our holiday destination in France where I’ll be in less than two weeks. You totally complete my ‘summer-feeling’ with this post.

    But on the other hand you make me jealous :P, go to nyc more often? Ohmy, I would be incredibly happy if I could go there just once this summer.

  26. 29 June 2009 10:28 am

    I may have to steal some of those to-do’s, I tried composing a long list a while ago and lost it =.[, but I’m occupying myself, creating random concotions in the kitchen, watching movies I normally wouldn’t, painting and repainting my nails, moving my bedroom furniture around, trying to decide what clothes I need to buy for uni. I only wish I could go to NYC. Very. Lucky. Girl. ♥

  27. 29 June 2009 10:29 am

    loving your todo lists 🙂
    the hearts are totally cute!
    and the campaign’s colors are unbelievable

  28. 29 June 2009 10:32 am

    That add campain is so beautiful!
    xo.

  29. 29 June 2009 11:34 am

    i love H&M collab to, so sparkling! hope you’ll enjoy your summerholidays as much as I’ve done. x

  30. 29 June 2009 12:22 pm

    Loooove your list and these pics ~ exquisite! Am also looking forward to bikinis, pancakes, sleeping with the windows open, and DIYs! Fab post, darling!

    xoxox,
    CC

  31. 29 June 2009 12:31 pm

    My list: First more more more La C’s post…Haha!

    XoXo

  32. 29 June 2009 12:54 pm

    What a lovely post!

    **** SUMMER HOLIDAYS ****

    2 wonderful words 😉
    Love these cute little pink hearts!

    ( I answer your question for the Tata-Naka dress directly in my post under your comment! Please feel free to drop me a line when you have any further questions!)

    Happy sunny & relaxing monday to you!

  33. 29 June 2009 1:53 pm

    I love these lists!!! …and love summer!

  34. 29 June 2009 2:36 pm

    what a great summer list, wish i had lazy summer days to do all of those things 🙂

  35. 29 June 2009 3:39 pm

    I’m going through a love affair with coral too.

  36. Alize Morand permalink
    29 June 2009 4:30 pm

    I’m in love with this cheerful post, the type that just makes you in a good mood straight away! 🙂 And sooo honoured to be “loved” by youhouhou! 😉

    I’m still at Uni (I know this is ridiculous!) and it’s HOT in London, like 30 degrees, which is unbelievable here! So my uniform is a strapless cream silk minidress with tan wedges and a large black leather tote, with vintage jewellery and peach nail polish (just on the toes!) How does this sound? Is it agreed by my favourite style expert?

    Just eating French chocolate while preparing a powerpoint presentation for tomorrow on my balcony’s sofa.. and thinking of you indeed!

    Bisous!

    • 30 June 2009 6:05 am

      alize morand: Ah, darling, one of my favorite bloggers ever. Oh, mon dieu, your uniform sounds so, SO gorgeous! Stunning & romantic. I am quite in love with creams, nudes & peaches at the moment. (And it must be a bit of ESP since I am wearing peach nail polish as well!).

      bisous!

  37. 29 June 2009 4:36 pm

    you sure have a long list to go through this summer.

  38. 29 June 2009 4:48 pm

    loving your to do list, sounds so fun!!

  39. amorepace permalink
    29 June 2009 5:31 pm

    Hope u have a great summer! and get to do all the things on your to do list.
    I also wanna say that I think you have a wonderful blog! Your posts are always interesting to read and professional put together!

    Keep up the good work!

    xx

    • 29 June 2009 7:18 pm

      amorepace: Awhh darling, thank you so, so much!! I still feel as if I’m an amateur in this blogging world, my posts incomparable or sometimes seemingly childish at times, but your words have given me a bit more confidence!

      bisous!

  40. 29 June 2009 7:09 pm

    Yay for summer 🙂 The MW/H&M shots are just so wonderful for getting me into the summer mood! I really do need to get to painting and baking more…well not at the same time, but that could be fun too.

    And I can’t wait to do a few movie marathons, or even just watching tv shows back to back. Haha, my summer can’t be complete without watching old eppies of The OC.

    I have been waking up super early lately just to watch the sun rise, it is sooo beautiful. And I love the fact that I can sleep with my window open. Aww haha and I love those pink hearts too 🙂 Thank you so, so, so much for the link love dear, I am honoured!

  41. 29 June 2009 7:51 pm

    I adore these lists! Hmm SAT’s took those twice… Debating on taking them again, although I hit the scholarship mark. My advice for them: Verbal-just straight up study vocab words. Especially the ones from 10th & 11th grades. Math-Look up how to do the Martian Math stuff, it ALWAYS gets me. Writing-Essay use a concrete example when responding to the prompt (like if the prompt was “is compassion better than ambition” use an example of how your friend did such and such.)
    But don’t sweat the SAT’s their importance is so much less nowadays than they were.
    AHH AND I need to get me some heart-shaped glasses! I have the super round ones…

  42. 29 June 2009 8:54 pm

    Gorgeous pics! i’m feeling so inspired! hope your summer is going fantastically 🙂

  43. 29 June 2009 10:09 pm

    Congratulations in beginning summer!!! Daria’s pants really pop in that background.. she looks perfect (as usual)! And your summer to-do lists is giving me some ideas too 😉 hehehe!

  44. jessica permalink
    29 June 2009 11:47 pm

    I love these photos. Matthew Williamson for H & M was a genius idea. I love when big designers make a collection at afforadable places such as H & M or Target. It gives all of us a chance to grab onto some fabulous designs 🙂 Great post, thanks for sharing!

  45. abdcforever permalink
    29 June 2009 11:54 pm

    i luv ur lists!

    mine: get a job, do summer hw, start choreographin for my crew’s performance, revamp my style (u inspired me lc!)

    lovin: ur blog, the summer, the beach, my new nikes!

  46. 30 June 2009 12:51 am

    LOVE Matthew Williamson. I finally got one of his peacock tops at H&M!

  47. 30 June 2009 3:07 am

    WOW. I adore the colours in these photos….I’m thinking new desktop pictures to help keep winter blues at bay 🙂

    Your to do list is wonderful…but I’m not seeing the word beach anywhere and starting to worry a little haha! I always seem to forget that its not a given for everyone, but regardless of coastal or non coastal living Summer is definately the happiest season of them all

    Keep doing what you’re doing lovely.

    x

  48. 30 June 2009 7:03 am

    ooh im envious…its officially winter for me 😦

  49. 30 June 2009 8:03 am

    OK, I adore both of your lists! I just had jury duty and was in the courthouse for several days.. there will be cute boys around. 🙂 And I was also just in Atlantic City (for my first time and I’m from NJ!), and had a blast. I also like those little pink hearts. That made me smile!

    xo, Becs

    • 30 June 2009 5:47 pm

      Becs: Aren’t those little pink hearts darling? Ah, the courthouse was quite the disappointment – no cute boys. Whatsoever! ):

      bisous!

  50. 30 June 2009 10:08 am

    I’m loving summer, makeup and the beach! Also, don’t you just love Daria’s campaign for H&M? It’s so colorful! I just wanna pop into those photographs.

    By the way, I’ve got a Perricone MD product to give away at my blog. Contest ends tonight! Check it out 🙂

  51. 30 June 2009 10:04 pm

    Those bluegreen jeans are to die for! I MUST must have them in my wardrobe… The difference is, I’d wear them in Winter, just to brighten my day!

    Bambola x

  52. 1 July 2009 10:46 am

    It is so weird how you all look forward to summer so mcuh! It is summer ALL year round here :/

  53. 1 July 2009 12:02 pm

    I love your list !!! I love everything about summer in fact ! I’ve so many things in my mind, colored, bright, funny !! Italy suits well all of this, plus ! ^^

    Enjoy your holidays !!

  54. 2 July 2009 11:44 am

    I scored MAC brave new bronze from a dear friend of mine in her moving sale. $3!!!! Best score of the week.

  55. 2 July 2009 1:24 pm

    like like like like your blog and ideas!!!!

  56. 3 July 2009 11:26 pm

    i’m so happy with the mw for h&m piece i own, and even happier that vancouver girl daria was the face of the campaign.

  57. 5 July 2009 12:44 am

    I love your to do list for summer. I defenitly agree with going to the libray more, and meeting a cute guy 🙂 Love your blog, too!

  58. 7 July 2009 8:33 pm

    hey there man

    great post i love it… check my website you might like it 😉

  59. 6 October 2010 5:58 am

    This is interesting, post more often!

Trackbacks

  1. Blog Article and Video about  it's [officially] summer! « la couturier - Lauren Conrad
  2. Blog Article and Video about  it's [officially] summer! « la couturier - Lilly Allen

Leave a comment