Skip to content

now if i were to ever appear in elle…

26 May 2009

Who is your favorite designer? 

I’m quite torn between Frida Giannini (Gucci) and Alber Elbaz (Lanvin). I love them both; they are, indeed, creative geniuses who understand the woman and what she wants.

If you could come back as a dress, what would it be?

Ah, why must these questions be so difficult? I would come back as an Herve Leger cocktail dress with asymmetrical, off the shoulder straps. In black, of course. Very me, I suppose.

Doutzen Kroes 1

If you could come back as a model, who would it be?

Doutzen Kroes. She is unbelievably beautiful! 

If you could come back with someone else’s body, whose would it be?

Scarlett Johansson’s. She has the perfect figure! And it wouldn’t be completely out of proportion like if I wished for Gisele or Adriana’s – Scarlett’s is a bit more similar to mine. Just about a thousand times better. 

What are you most vain about?

I would say that I’m more modest than I should be. But since you ask to me to be vain, I shall refrain from all fetters of modesty and say that I think I am blessed to be given the opportunities and skills I have. Namely writing, dancing, art, styling. This is when I chuckle to myself.

What are you most shy about?

I’m shy about what I know I can do. Weird, yes, but true. Sometimes I’m shy about asking favors from people too.

sweets

Junk food?

Little sweets and desserts. Anything pretty, little, and would have been devoured (in the most ladylike manner, of course) by Marie Antoinette.

Who are your fantasy dinner-party guests?

President Barack Obama, Michelle Obama, Carine Roitfeld, Julia Restoin-Roitfeld, Rachel Zoe, Frida Giannini, Alber Elbaz, Natalie Portman, Winston Churchill, Elizabeth Bennett, 

Fantasy celebrity one-night stand?

Mm. Ed Westwick.

Favorite place to have a drink?

Starbucks, darling. You should know the drill by now!

Lacy little things

Underwear?

Lacy little numbers. ;]

What can’t you travel without?

My iPod.

Last book you read?

The Tipping Point. It’s quite pathetic, really. I have absolutely no time to read – I read it a month ago!

At age seven, you wanted to be…

A writer, a fashion designer, and a part-time dancer for Britney Spears. I kid you not. Ah, the dreams of my child-self. Funny thing is, my current on deviates not too far from the aforementioned.

What’s the thing you find easiest to forgive?

White lies to spare hurt feelings or pain.

What’s the thing you find impossible to forgive?

Anything that would make me never trust you again.

Miu Miu vitello lux alluminio

Biggest self-indulgence?

It has yet to happen. I plan on splurging on one of the few bags I have on my must-haves-before-I-die list. At the moment, however, my idea of self-indulgence is a bit of Michael Buble, an order from Starbucks, a slice of heaven, a stack of magazines, a pair of scissors, and my inspiration book. Oh, and then shopping in the city. (Window-shopping, I mean.)

Favorite place to shop?

I really don’t have a favorite, persay. Moreso an assortment of shops where I happen to stop by and pick up one or two things from at a time. But my favorite place to window shop is a battle between Net-a-Porter and Barneys. 

Favorite place to shop online?

Barnes & Nobles would be the place I do the most shopping on. Occasionally I shop at Nordstroms. But I do window shop (a lot) on many sites. Where I do hope I can actually purchase from one day. 

Whose diary would you most like to read?

Lanvin box

Least favorite food?

Octopus or squid. I had it once on accident and I felt like I was chewing a rubber tire that’s been greased and fried. Only, I would never know what greasy, fried rubber tires taste like since I’ve never tried. I promise.

If you were an inventor, what would you invent?

A laptop the size of an average paperback book that also includes the functions of scanning and printing. With unfaltering internet connection no matter when or where. Okay, so not exactly creative, but practical.

Fine. I would invent some sort of mechanism that can read the designs I have picture in my mind and create them for me. Sometimes translating things onto paper loses a bit of the initial beauty since the mind can see better than the hands can draw. Or, maybe I’m just not so great at designing. But I have these visions! (This is when I would laugh at how incredulous

Fendi Casa

Who are your favorite furniture designers?

Fendi Casa. Oh I am no label whore, mind you, but oh gosh. I die at the croc-embossed wardrobe. The clean, modern lines with luxurious touches. I  d i e . And the black, white, dark chocolate browns? Gorrrgeous.

Car?

I’ve never been a car person. But if I had to have one, I picture myself in a Jaguar (okay, so I just like the insignia. I’ve always seen jaguars, tigers, leopards, the likes as felines of power). A silver one. Classic is chic.

What was your childhood nickname?

Nothing that original. Sugar plum? My nicknames now are much more interesting. Much more.

When and where are you happiest?

Walking about in a city, with no set agenda. Listening to music, in my room, with a pile of magazines and a stack of books awaiting. 

Monet

What piece of art would you most like to own?

Impression: Soleil Levant (Sunrise), by Claude Monet. I’m imagining it in my all black-white-chocolate brown home and a pop of color is a lovely touch. I love his artwork; the progression of his pieces of the pond, the strokes, the colors. I do have a whole book on his artwork. A wonderful coffee table book.

What are your favorite vacation spots?

Europe! I’d love to be able to stay in Paris, Southern France, Barcelona, London, Sweden. 

Most treasured possession?

My laptop!!

Favorite fictional character?

Elizabeth Bennett from Pride & Prejudice. One of my favorite books of all time.

Favorite musicians?

John Legend. He’s quite sexy too.

Vogue stack

If you had another profession beside your own, what would it be?

If an internship would count as a profession. I’d love to be editor of Elle, maybe Vogue. Ooh, Harper’s Bazaar! And a stylist!

What current trends would you like to see disappear?

Trends spice up fashion. If I don’t like them in particular, I simply don’t wear them.

Favorite trend of all time?

Black. It is always classic, darling.

Always…

Fight for what’s right.

Never…

Give up.

… these would be my answers.

Bisous,

La C.

56 Comments leave one →
  1. *Andrea* permalink
    26 May 2009 10:14 pm

    lovely post. you are SO talented and yet so modest. i love your personality 🙂

  2. 26 May 2009 10:19 pm

    Great post~ I like to actually go inside Barnes and Noble stores(you’ll find me reading fashion mags, chick literature, and hopefully drinking Starbucks), if I’m shopping for books online its always Amazon..(love their selection and customer service!).

  3. 26 May 2009 10:22 pm

    omg. Doutzen is my top favorite victoria’s secret and well just in general models. i couldn’t get over her for a long time.
    and i’ve been thinking about scarlett’s body lately too. HAHA oh dear, i can only imagine what i sound like right now.

    i’m interested to see how your answers will change in a couple years…perhaps i’ll actually read it in elle. :] an intro to their latest contributor perhaps?

    kisses. xo

  4. 26 May 2009 10:22 pm

    I love this post–a woman after my own heart…Lanvin…YUM 🙂 (oh yeah, little sweets…also YUM)!!

  5. 26 May 2009 10:22 pm

    Ah, brilliant post! Loved reading your fab answers, was ‘tagged’ to answers these too, but am absolutely hopeless, so am taking forever to do so! 🙂
    xx

  6. 26 May 2009 10:23 pm

    That was such fun to read. You have great style and a way with words as always!

  7. 26 May 2009 10:36 pm

    i love your answers!! I hope one day you will be in Elle 🙂

    kiss!

  8. 26 May 2009 10:50 pm

    I love, love, love this. And I love, love, ove you. That Miu Miu bag is something that I have been eyeing, as well – in that exact shade. I feel that it is right behind the Balenciaga City in terms of looks and style. Plus, it’s very classy. 🙂

  9. 26 May 2009 10:51 pm

    Great answers! It’s nice to see Couture Carrie’s tag spreading like wild fire among bloggers lol.

  10. 26 May 2009 11:07 pm

    Great post. I loved reading this q&a. It’s always neat to learn more about what somebody is all about. Cheers!

  11. Anon permalink
    26 May 2009 11:16 pm

    I’m going to have to disagree with you on a few things:
    -Frida Giannini would never be on par with Alber Elbaz. Her designs looked like they could be bought at Bebe. In a bad way.
    -You really don’t sound that modest. Refer to Kelly Bensimon; it really gets old when people like her (and apparently like you too) say how modest they are and how down to earth they are. And you’re always putting yourself down, fishing for compliments. Truly modest people would never write the things you wrote.
    -Also, Fendi Casa is really not known for design. And that’s for a reason.

    I hope this serves as a reality check for you, as opposed to all your gushing readers above who lap up everything you say and worship every facet about your seriously lacking personality.

  12. Anon permalink
    26 May 2009 11:18 pm

    “Your comment is awaiting moderation.”

    Ha! Why am I not surprised you moderate every single comment before they are posted?

    I don’t care if your readers read my last comment or not. I just think you should know what I think.

    And believe me, I will not be reading your blog anymore.

    • 27 May 2009 5:36 pm

      Anon: I appreciate the time you had taken in the past to read my blog, and the time you’ve taken now to comment.

      I apologize if I ever came off pretentious – I had never meant to. Sometimes it was meant for a bit of sarcastic humor, but hey, sometimes I miss my mark ;].

      First off, I’d like to mention that I do not moderate every single comment before they’re posted. It’s actually a setting of wordpress that I cannot change – it simply protects blogs from being spammed. It will moderate any email address that hasn’t commented before, or anything with a link attached to it. Ideally I would like all the comments to be of positive discussions, but I understand if you disagree.

      Secondly. Please do understand that everything in this blog is of my own opinion – I am not fashion expert (as you all know). If you disagree with my opinions, so be it. I write my blog for myself, and not for the sake of pleasing others. I really do apologize if I have sounded pretentious or immodest – like I said, sometimes I attempt to be sarcastically humorous (and I guess I’ve failed miserably).

      I am sorry that I’ve come across in any way that I don’t mean to. There are plenty of blogs out there for you to read; so enjoy them =]. Please do take into consideration that there are people behind each blog who write it to express their own personal opinion to an audience. We leave our opinions out there to be exposed, our inspiration to be enjoyed (hopefully). Please do consider that the blogger behind the web address does have feelings. If you should ever disagree, please feel free to email me. But to assume can be quite hurtful.

      Thank you.

  13. 26 May 2009 11:45 pm

    Amazing post! The Q&A was so fun to read!

    What’s there not to love about La Couturier?

    xx

  14. 26 May 2009 11:54 pm

    Answers worthy of an Elle feature!

  15. 27 May 2009 12:23 am

    I get ELLE each month and the first page I go to is always this question page. I love hearing insights into designers lifes, yours was fabulous. I agree with so many of your answers, emmmm chuck bass…john legend…
    XOXOXO
    Libby
    http://fashionconfectionairy.weebly.com

  16. 27 May 2009 12:36 am

    GREAT Q&A. I totally agree Scarlett Johanson answers… LOL! She is natural beautiful person…

    XoXo

  17. 27 May 2009 1:16 am

    ahh My dream car has always been a black 1956 Jaguar Roadster. The beauty from Cruel Intentions. And I adore the Monet. I often find myself wondering around the art museum downtown and wishing my line of work was in that world. I keep seeing this questionnaire on blogs and it’s giving me the urge to follow suit.

  18. 27 May 2009 1:40 am

    I love Frida Gianinni too, the bags, the “Frida Pants”, ooooh!

    My lap is a treasure for me too!

    Xoxo,

    Dana

  19. 27 May 2009 2:41 am

    Great, love all the answers…even though I would not say no to the Gisele body shape…
    Have a nice day Iole

  20. 27 May 2009 3:21 am

    Hi there-fabulous q&a’s, the Miu Miu bag is just so adorable too!

  21. 27 May 2009 3:21 am

    interesting poll. great to get to know you better. my favourite artist is klimt.. ah, id love to have one of his artpieces in my home..
    wish you a great week

  22. 27 May 2009 3:23 am

    Love this darling! I’ll be doing y version in the coming days! xxx

  23. 27 May 2009 6:10 am

    Ed Westwick. Definitley yes. GOD yes.

  24. 27 May 2009 6:13 am

    igh!i want the underwearr!!

  25. 27 May 2009 6:43 am

    Great post…really fun to read. I love your answers, and I agree ScarJo has one amazing figure!

  26. 27 May 2009 8:15 am

    i love this interview and i especially love the miumiu bag

  27. 27 May 2009 8:16 am

    Bonjour!
    i definitly love this tag 🙂 are you french by the way ??
    Boubouteatime xx

  28. 27 May 2009 8:47 am

    great answers! Doutzen is so so gorgeous and I have my eyes on that miu miu bag too, in patent black!! 🙂

    xx

  29. 27 May 2009 9:36 am

    Lovely, lovely! I really enjoyed reading this<3 I love to learn more about you;)

    Yes! Onenightstand with Ed Westwick<3 How lovely:))

    And now I really want candy. Marie Antoinette candy! They look so pretty.

    Pride and Prejudice is one of my favourite books too, I adore Jane Austen. She is such a strong willed woman and I really admire how she told Darcy no the first time he proposed although it kind of broke my heart also xDhaha

  30. 27 May 2009 10:37 am

    The Miu Miu’s bag is beautiful !

  31. 27 May 2009 11:25 am

    Reminds me I really have to read Pride & Prejudice. Oh and Doutzen Kroes is indeed very beautiful, I would als want to come back as her :)!

  32. 27 May 2009 12:12 pm

    Darling, I’m sitting here with a tall cafe latte and enjoy all your wonderful answers and your creativity at all! Man, you are stunning!
    I had so much fun while reading your answers over and over again and watching all the beautiful pictures. You know all about eyecandy. Last but not least: Please keep me posted, I would LOVE, LOVE, L-O-V-E to read a magazine edited by you!!!
    (this would be the first time I would going to read them)

  33. 27 May 2009 12:26 pm

    Love this post! It gives me more insight on your fabulous self 🙂

    xo

  34. 27 May 2009 12:34 pm

    Oh great Q&A, there were some really fabulously clever and fun questions in there! 🙂

    xoxo,
    S-C

  35. 27 May 2009 1:06 pm

    This was a fun read!
    Never give up, yeah. 😀

  36. 27 May 2009 1:06 pm

    Mmm…
    Frida Giannini was good for replacing Gucci on the market (actually, Tom Ford replaced it, Giannini is making that success keep growing). But honestly, I don’t think she can be considered a great designer. Not at all.
    Alber Elbaz is one on my favourites.
    Lucy =)

    http://thefashionsetter.blogspot.com

  37. 27 May 2009 1:21 pm

    I want to be an editor of a magazine too!

  38. 27 May 2009 2:08 pm

    Love this post! It’s so much fun! It’s really made me fall in love with you more!

    PS/ I would pick Ed Westwick myself too=p

  39. 27 May 2009 3:16 pm

    I totally agree about the Hervé leger dress!
    x Laura
    http://stylecoaching.blogspot.com

  40. 27 May 2009 4:20 pm

    Loved this post! As do all of your other ones too 🙂
    And I loved that you mentioned Sweden for a place to visit 🙂

  41. 27 May 2009 5:39 pm

    Fabulous answers!

  42. 27 May 2009 6:34 pm

    I love little sweets & desserts 🙂

  43. 27 May 2009 6:40 pm

    La C,

    Screw the Anonymous jerks. Their neg comments are not always justified. You’re fabulous as is and that croc embossed piece is EXQUISITE!

  44. 27 May 2009 7:24 pm

    I’m glad people disagree with some of the things you have to say. It shows that you truly do have your own way of thinking, state of mind, and I truly admire you for that. Sometimes, I feel like I’m too easily swayed by other people’s thoughts, or too easily influenced I guess.

    We gush because we love you, La C. And well, I love you for all that you are behind this blog, you know that. Call me biased, but it’s all true. We’re not trying to suck up to you or gush at you just for the heck of it, it’s not like it’ll prove anything. We express our support and admiration because we love what you have to say.

    i hope the disagreements allow you to grow even more. It means you are getting noticed, my love! besides, we all know there’s too much haterade in this world. ;d

  45. 27 May 2009 8:04 pm

    can i please be invited to your dinner party? 😉

    loved reading all your answers and getting to know u a bit more. thank u for being who u are. ❤

  46. 27 May 2009 8:26 pm

    Hey I just saw your Twitter update and read those harsh comments- wanted to say that you have your own unique, fun writing style and you should be able to “come off” as modest or snooty as you want. It’s your blog. So, as for those hater comments, I say forget them!! You have too many huge fans to let them get you down.
    And commenting as “anon” is a bit cowardish, if you ask me..

  47. 28 May 2009 4:27 pm

    I love that bag!

  48. 28 May 2009 5:32 pm

    I like Tufi Duek, Costume National, Jill Stuart for sure and of course my girl Betsey Johnson for her playfulness. Certainly not my entire list, but just some I can remember off the cuff.

  49. thebaglady permalink
    28 May 2009 9:28 pm

    You always are so composed.

    Even in these kind of situations. This is what makes you fabulous, LC! Don’t listen to him/her. I don’t get why people don’t understand that WE ALL HAVEA DIFFERENT OPINIONS!

    Haha =]

  50. 28 May 2009 10:29 pm

    i saw this on Couture Carrie & now lots of other blogs and it’s such an interesting take! I think I might have to o it when I get some free time.

    I love Frida Giannini; she’s so stylish and has done so much for Gucci! I am also fully addicted to starbucks; its real bad! 🙂 i barely go a day without a ice nonfat caramel latte!

    P.S. ignore haters! blogs are supposed to be a form of self expression. if people don’t have something nice to say they shouldn’t say it at all!

  51. 29 May 2009 11:35 pm

    Love your answers and am glad we got to know a little bit more about you! But now I’m interested to find out what your nicknames are. 🙂 And John Legend is def. a cutie and I’d trade bodies with Scarlett in a heartbeat.

    xo, Becs

  52. 30 May 2009 8:12 am

    Amazing post !
    Monet is one of the most interesting french painters, and in America they do have so many works of him… You chose one of the most striking and complex, it’s really beautiful.

    And please, become an inventor !!! xD

  53. 30 May 2009 7:41 pm

    Darling post! The pictures were lovely.

  54. 17 December 2009 12:41 pm

    Absolut gorgeous!

Trackbacks

  1. now if i were to ever appear in elle… « la couturier | Fashion e Music Blog

Leave a comment