Skip to content

my space.

3 April 2009

No, I am not talking about the notorious Myspace (I am a Facebook fan!). But by that very phrase I speak of your personal space, your sanctuary, the place where creative ideas are brewed and things are done (or not done). It is the space at which you work, whether it be a room or just simply your desk, that is your space, and yours only. 

From the loveliest Linhh, in a comment she left earlier back for this particular article

Dearest Miss La C…

I know Ive already left a few compliments and random messages on here but I have to sayy THIS entry came at the PERFECT time for me. I actually found out about Jaime wears black’s blog through you and have been reading up on her page ever since so first and foremost, thank you!! Secondly, I have been extremely procastinating everything in my life, you name it, I haven’t done it, it’s still written down somewhere but avoided at all cost. I just have the hardest time getting started! That is my weakest point because once I do start then I’m on a roll. This entry is really a pick-me-up..and i LOVE the pictures that you placed along the topics :) so pretty! Soo thank you for this entry, I am definitely amped up and ready to go now. lol.

Before I gooo, I have a request, I’m so sorry for dropping this on you. I know you are a busy gal and you don’t have to feel obligated to do it, I will still forever love your blog!I really hate my desk aka my work, writing area. It’s really a nice desk I got from IKEA but I find it so uninspiring..Would you be soo dear to write an entry about how to decorate your workspace/deskarea?

okay, now i’m going forrreal. =)

Sincerely,
Linhhh

image source: weheartit.com

image source: weheartit.com

It can be said that a great majority of the population spends a good fifty percent, if not more, at a desk, regardless of your status as a student or one in the corporate world. And since we do spend so much time sitting at a desk, it is utterly and completely necessary to love it – after all, it has become a little home in a sense, no? The most horrible thing is sitting at a cluttered workspace, or a bland one, or both (the horror!). It is simply uninspiring and hardly aesthetically pleasing to the eye and mind. Dreading to sit at that desk makes doing work even more difficult; creativity is hindered by a focus on the lack of inspiration in your space, and your mind preoccupied with thoughts of how to even begin organizing or brightening the desktop. It is almost necessary to make sure you love your workspace: because it is at your desk where your best work and ideas are born and developed.

heart5 De-clutter! It is step one to achieving that aesthetically pleasing (or just organized) desk space. Clear away your work space; get rid of any junk or old papers. A clean desk is a happy desk. Dust that table top!

heart5 Gather inspiration. Fashion images and clippings of interior designer homes and ideas are not just limited to their respective worlds. They have the potential to be applied to your workspace. Find paint chips of colors you love, compile images you’re in love with. You are the designer now!

heart5 Find a wallpaper for inspiration. For most people, their computer/laptop is essential to their workspace; it’s where they do their work primarily. Start there; I always find a wallpaper for my desktop to fit my mood. Not only does it serve as inspiration, but it doubles as art for your desk (when you’re not currently on word or the internet). Simple google for images, or visit thefashionspot.com and search for pictures.

My future apartment in Paris. Overlooking the heart of the city from the highest floor. Source: weheartit

My future apartment in Paris. Overlooking the heart of the city from the highest floor. Source: weheartit

heart5 A good light source is important. Working by a window has two pros: it is an eco-friendly light source, and can easily brighten your mood; open the window for a bit of fresh air, or just stare at the scenery. It acts as a sort of wallpaper for you. If a window is not tangible, then opt of a good lamp. This is where you’re allowed to get creative; there are lamps in all different shapes, sizes, colors, and designs. In a sense, they are a work of art to display on your desk.

heart5 Decorate! Think of it as accessorizing your desk. Bring a bit of color, patterns, decorations, pictures, collages, etc. It’s easier to look at pictures for inspiration than to write it: there are an infinite number of ideas! Just some ideas: Buy a bulletin board, plaster it with your favorite images/photos and either hang it or lean it against the wall on your desk. Frame pictures of photos or magazine clippings for your desk. Buy fresh flowers and stick them in a vase. Stack a few books or magazines for aesthetic appeal. Find little vintage trinkets – statues, boxes, tea sets, etc. – to arrange on your desk. Buy colorful organizers to stash writing utensils, office supplies, and paperwork to keep organized. Decorate the edge of your desk with rhinestones or little trinkets. If your table has a glass top over the actual desk itself, make a collage on the desk and replace the glass; change it as often as you’d like. Add shelves to the wall for more organizational space and aesthetic appeal. 

desk2

all images from weheartit; click to enlarge!

desk-11

all images from weheartit; click to enlarge!

Bisous,

La C.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. thebaglady permalink
    3 April 2009 11:14 pm

    Yet another fabulous post! Great advice LC! I love how you can break it down to the simplest things for everyone to understand. Gorgeous photos.

    You will get that apartment in Paris! =)

  2. 3 April 2009 11:19 pm

    My space at work has pictures of me and my loves. On the wall, I have my game character, and a picture from another game I love. I have an anime figurine as well.

    At home, I no longer keep a desk. I do have a vanity, which I’m constantly decluttering, as I always have samples of makeup that I’m trying out on it. I have to organize and them away almost daily!

    Lately I’ve been trying to find wallpapers for inspiration for my computer, and I seem to end up with cute pictures of standard poodles and pugs, or chic looking women.

    • 3 April 2009 11:37 pm

      thebaglady: Thank you, darling! You are simply the sweetest. I love your comments!

      Phyrra: Haha! Maybe instead of googling “wallpaper” just search images that you like. You can then make them into your wallpaper. Poodles & pugs solved! Your desk sounds interesting!

  3. 4 April 2009 12:59 am

    Great post, as always! My ‘wallpaper’ are pictures I have taken that I like (at one stage they were my wedding pics, or holiday pics, always brings a smile to my face)…Hope you’re having a great weekend, and gearing up for….your b’day! 🙂
    xx

  4. 4 April 2009 1:30 am

    Love those Parisian apartment; it would be; just the best!! Thanks for your tip! I’m like facing 4 boring white walls now in the hotel room; Can’t wait to get my hands on some tape to put up some bright; crazy pictures! (While praying feverishly that the wallpaper would not come off! HAHA!)

  5. 4 April 2009 1:39 am

    Great advice as always! I like having personal mementoes on my desk whether they be travel souvenirs or Starbucks teddy bears. I also like drinking out of a colourful coffee mug–you’d be surprised how much a distinctive coffee mug can brighten up a bland work space!

  6. 4 April 2009 1:52 am

    I love the idea of having all those colorful clipboards hanging up on the wall. That is such a clever idea. I think I’m going to try something similar to that. It’s a bit more chic than your typical postboard – but every bit as space saving!

  7. 4 April 2009 2:57 am

    The Paris image is just gorgeous, oh I wish!! Have a lovely weekend!

  8. 4 April 2009 6:29 am

    WOW! 2nd pic! 🙂

    xoxo: Janet

  9. 4 April 2009 7:03 am

    Your future apartment in Paris looks great! 😉 I wish I had as picturesque a work space – at the moment I work from my dining room table or my sofa, when I’m really bad. Your post has inspired me to rethink having a real work area in my home!
    Many thanks!

    Kisses from Paris!

    xoxo

    http://www.chicsetera.com

  10. 4 April 2009 9:01 am

    an inspirational board is a must! and i would so love to have that eiffiel tower view!! 🙂

    xx

  11. 4 April 2009 12:05 pm

    Such a great post!!!!!!!!
    Thank you for sharing all this with us, precious information.

    Have a nice weekend

    xoxo

  12. 4 April 2009 12:34 pm

    I love this post! I recently made a collage of a bunch of images comprising my fantasy office/workspace. Amazing view of Paris included, of course.
    http://www.StyleSampleMag.com

  13. 4 April 2009 1:08 pm

    Thank you for writing this! My work-space is utterly cluttered with junk xD I have a tendency to never actually put anything away when it first gets on my table:D I’ll try to tidy it now from your inspiration<3 Thank you, your posts are always so uplifting!

    Thank you for your comment as well<3

  14. abdcforever permalink
    4 April 2009 1:41 pm

    this inspires me to go out & clean my desk up! as a matter of fact imma do it rite now!

  15. 4 April 2009 2:11 pm

    These pictures are pure inspiration! I feel like I have to create a new workspace _right now_. But the rational part of my brain says it would take to much time/energy/money to make it happen. I might go for it in smaller steps though:)

  16. 4 April 2009 2:21 pm

    I love the space with the Eiffel Tower 🙂

  17. 4 April 2009 2:22 pm

    I love these ideas! This is great advice. Thanks for the comment my dear!

    -BK

  18. 4 April 2009 6:29 pm

    aaaaaaahhh, OMG!! i LOVE you!!! I’m gonna copy everything down (copy & pasting) and saving this forever. Thank you soo much for doing this. I haven’t been on for a while but as soon as I saw your comment on my page, I was sooo exciteddd. lol ok so enough of this enthusiasmm, i’m gettin on my own nerves. I just want to say thank you. You put so much into replying comments and completing requests, you are my favorite website/blogger foreverr!!

    Much <33

    Linhh

  19. 4 April 2009 6:40 pm

    ♥♥♥ LOVELIEST, SWEETEST, HAPPIEST OF BIRTHDAYS TO YOU, DARLING! ♥♥♥

    I’m not sure if it’s Sunday yet where you live, but here in Norway it’s just past midnight, so I get a head start 😉 Do you have any fabulous plans on how to celebrate your day?

    And you’re so right, by the way! Having an inspirational place to work is half the job done, I say. It’s still kind of hard, though, if you live in a single room and have to work in the same place as you sleep, eat, play and… well, throw all your clothes around. I’ve got this horrible paper due in a few weeks, and every time I sit down to write it ends up with me tidying the place instead. Of course, that means that my room is pretty much spotless these days, but I still don’t get any writing done.

    Oh, and I’m on Twitter now, too! http://twitter.com/lostinamind, if you want to follow me 🙂

  20. 4 April 2009 7:20 pm

    ohhh, i love this post! i have been getting more and more into interior decorating/design lately, and this post gives perfect, easy ways to start making a space what you want it to be. i love the images you picked. like your fashion choices, they show so much about you! very clean, sophisticated, and modern. i am more of a messy boho girl, clutter comforts me. still, it’s important to make work spaces actually workable.
    so lovely to check in with you again. now that i’m almost done traveling, i’ll be able to do so more often.
    xx
    chloe

  21. 5 April 2009 12:19 am

    Very cool workspaces! I love the images in the one on the bottom right.

  22. 5 April 2009 5:42 am

    ah! i love all these so much.
    and i would love to exhange links =]
    i’ll add you right now.
    x

  23. rossovelvet permalink
    6 April 2009 11:54 am

    Now you made me a weheartit.com dependent !
    Lovely article, really.
    I have collages, inspiration boards and everything just in front of me, with tons of light…. the desk in itself is very clean, but there’s that amount of inspirative stuff, I love it !
    I just have to ‘update’ them in a few weeks ;D

  24. 8 April 2009 10:32 am

    I am so jealous of all these perfect little workspaces.

    total inspiration.

  25. schessilibam permalink
    8 December 2009 5:17 am

    just found your post via designtavern.

    I would love to be able to decorate my desk area, but as wel all know London is expensive and space is rare. I’m house sharing and I don’t even HAVE a desk which can be quite frustrating cause all of your things are scattered all over the floor/bed and wherever. I keep losing pens, paper and bills and I don’t know how to organise that as there is just no space. This feels even worse…

Trackbacks

  1. | Design Tavern
  2. La Couturier « Rough Review

Leave a comment