Skip to content

being fabulous.

2 January 2009

I recently received an interesting email from an anonymous reader in response to my first post of 2009.

Dear La C.,

I know you get hundreds, maybe even thousands, of emails telling you how fabulous your blog is! So I will resist turning this email into a page long list on how inspiring, amazing, etc. you & your site are by simply saying that I am in consensus with the rest of your admirers. 

So today, when I read your newest post, “hello, 2009” (which I absolutely loved!), I felt incredibly inspired by your mantra & wallpaper idea. One of my main ones, like yours, was “be fabulous.” This is where my question comes in: how do you be/become fabulous? It sounds like you lead the most fabulous of lives: young, fashionable, talented, & with an internship at a fashion magazine to boast. I want to live like that! So where do I begin? How do I feel glamorous every inch of the day, even on lazy Sundays (well I know that now thanks to your post!)? And where do I get the confidence you have? Everytime I read one of your posts I get this vibe of humble yet undeniable self-confidence. You sound so personable, friendly, & incredibly fabulous. 

I hope you have a great 2009! ~ Love, anon.

When I first read the email, I think I burst out in laughter – I hardly get hundreds of emails (not even close!); just a few, rather. But the few I get from readers like Miss Anonymous‘ truly make my day, even the most boring or gloomiest of days, exponentially better. This email seriously brought a smile to my face – one so big (like those ear to ear grins you’ve read in books but never thought it could translate into real life). I don’t even think I can say that I’m flattered – it’s even beyond that; for once, I am at a lack of words. All I can say to you, darling, is thank you – from the bottom of my heart. I wish there was more to say than such simple words.

How to be Fabulous

14

Being fabulous isn’t simply a measure of your material belongings; it’s also a state of mind. Sure, a splurge on a designer bag or indulging occasionally can help in feeling fabulous, somewhat. But to be fabulous also requires self-acceptance: a bit of confidence and peace of mind with yourself. Because those are the most important things – the key to being truly happy with who and where you are in the world – that cannot be bought. Ever. Yes it can be feigned to some extent, with a happy smile for the world to see; the pedestrians you walk past in the streets will think you seem fabulous in the few seconds you come into contact. But a lack of confidence is detectable. The way in which you carry yourself, the way your eyes look when you talk or smile, etc. when interacting with others can tell people indirectly how you feel about yourself. 

heart5  heart5  heart5

I. Acquiring Confidence

How to find confidence and love yourself is something no one can teach you. Rather, it is only through a journey of finding yourself and accepting individuality where you can gain this confidence. Remember that confidence is not synonymous to being the most beautiful in the crowd. Take Julie Andrews. Why was it that she, out of a handful of other talented women, chosen? It’s undeniable that she’s beautiful and incredibly talented. But it can be said that she is not the most gorgeous. Yet it is in the way she carries herself that makes her all the more beautiful. So begin with the simpler things that can help you in feeling self-confident.

heart5 Hold your head up high. Chin up, shoulders up, standing straight and chest out just a bit. You hear this from your mother or your respective ballet teacher every time you’re at the bar. Cliche, yes, but it works. It elongates your neck, gives you an inch or two, and gives a first good impression of elegance.

heart5 Be someone you adore. It’s one of the easiest ways to feign confidence when you’re unsure of yourself. How would Audrey Hepburn act and feel in “x” situation? Think of the emotions and body language she would possess – then emulate it. Smile gently, stand tall, and accept compliments without self deprivation. Slowly, you’ll grow into it, and become more confident.

heart5 Look at yourself in the mirror. For once, it’s okay to be vain! It’s easy to fall into the usual “Ugh I hate this body part, I want to change this body part” etc, etc. But really look, and think of all the compliments you’ve ever received. If you have beautiful eyes, lips, a profile, what have you, embrace it. Never overlook it. Admire yourself, and tell yourself you’re beautiful. And while you’re at it, pose at different angles. Find which angle you look best at, and commit that to muscle memory. So when a friend whips out the camera, you won’t shy away or complain about being un-photogenic. 

heart5 Walk like Marilyn Monroe. Wear your favorite heels (one of the most iconic items of sex appeal; as Britney Spears’ song Lace & Leather goes: “heels six inch make a boy wanna bite his lip…”) and practice your walk! Swing your hips just a bit, shoulders back & head up. Having a good walk can help you feel sexier in an instant, knowing that those who are watching you from behind are looking in admiration.

heart5 Wear red! I must have mentioned this too many times for my own good. But bear with me here; it boosts self confidence and makes you feel bold and unstoppable. It’s perfectly fine to seek help in this way. Paint your nails red. Wear red lip gloss. Slip into a little red dress. Somehow this color makes a majority of the female population glow! 

purple-magazine

heart5 Take your time when you’re getting ready. Put on your favorite outfit, wear makeup, and go out. Sometimes an outfit can make you feel a certain way. Embrace it, wear it, and work it! 

heart5 Smile.  A tint of your favorite gloss can help with that.

heart5  heart5  heart5

II. And now, on the route of fabulosity!

So now that the first and most important part of being fabulous is done with, a bit of indulging (moderated, of course) can help massively! 

heart5 Start with an inspiration board. Put old magazine to good use! Tear out images and tape/clip/thumbtack them to an empty wall and on your closet doors where you can see them. They serve not just as beautiful wall decor, but also as a daily source of inspiration. Even on you’re laziest day, you’ll feel motivated to still dress up (even if it’s just a bit). And that can help immensely with perking up your mood!

the closet of jaime (jaime wears black); one of my style inspirations!

the closet of jaime (jaime wears black); one of my style inspirations!

heart5 What you wear underneath. Pretty lingerie is key! Silly as it may sound, pretty little things, lacy, colorful, sexy, whatever boosts your confidence, even if it’s just you that sees them. Granny panties are hardly attractive & they won’t make you feel any prettier; not to mention, panty lines are a girl’s worst nightmare. Designer bras and underwear are not necessary, darlings. But investing in a good bra that makes you feel and look as sexy as you should feel is crucial (and it instantly slims you about five pounds!). Buy adorable panties. I guarantee: they will do their job.

LouLou Loves You knickers, in peacock blue.

LouLou Loves You knickers, in peacock blue.

heart5 Invest in the basics and classics. Sure, you can buy them cheap at Forever 21 (I do love their $4.99 tees though!). But when you know you’ll be wearing and re-wearing certain pieces, don’t skimp. Frugality is important, especially in economic times like this (darn the economy), but keep in mind that dividing the price tag by the number of times you wear it will ultimately be worth it. Cheap basics may be, well, cheap, but after a few washings they will look what they cost. And constantly replacing them will add up. Indulging just a bit can make you feel a bit more fabulous, even if you’re simply wearing a pair of jeans and a sweater. Do invest in: denim, black pencil skirt, tailored blazer, cashmere sweater, leather boots, basic black pumps. The crisp button down can simply be stolen from your boyfriend’s, dad’s, or brother’s closet. Or thrifted, rather. And the basic tees can be bought cheaply. Hanes are the best!

heart5 … which leads me to the topic of everyday luxury. Everyday luxury is not spending wildly with everything you buy. It’s a sort of investment, where you spend a little bit more (or a lot more) on something that you will use almost indefinitely. Eventually the cost per wear will even out; it is worth it in the end. Some choose to spend on cosmetics, some on shoes, some on bags. I am, of course, that bag lady. Though most of my bags were given to me as gifts, they are still a form of everyday luxury that can boost confidence and make a girl feel a bit more important. Why save the expensive items for specific occasions?

heart5 Upgrade! Upgrade, like the tampon ad and Beyonce’s single. Changing little things in your life can help you feel more fabulous! For example, developing a skin care routine can make you feel refreshed immediately in the morning before you head out. Buy yummy lotions (Victoria’s Secret, darlings!) and slather yourself in body butter. Treat yourself to a home spa: give yourself a facial sauna, don a facial mask (cucumbers and all), and finish it all with a manicure/pedicure. Buy comfy slippers to wear around the house. Wear pretty sets of pajamas. Sleep with an eye mask on. Use the delicate china you usually save for guests to drink your daily cup of tea or coffee. Eat chocolate! Wear perfume everyday, & spritz a bit of it in your bedroom so all you smell is lovliness. Wear jewelry around the house! Eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner from a fabulously arranged plate, aesthetically pleasing to the eye. Little things like these can make you feel ten times more fabulous than you already are!

eye-mask

heart5 Do a bit of yoga in the morning. It helps you feel refreshed and ready for anything!

heart5 Make your work space beautiful.  So that when you’re typing away at the laptop (like I am now), you don’t feel uninspired or annoyed by the mess. Put up inspirational pictures, clear the clutter, and type away with your freshly painted, ring-clad nails!

heart5 Design a signature. You can be as extravagant or superfluous as you would like; think like John Hancock! Don’t just scribble your name on the receipt or check; your name is a representation of you. It’s such a tiny thing, but trust me, having a beautiful, jealousy-inducing signature can make you feel like a star! 

heart5 Watch fabulous old movies. I particularly love My Fair Lady. Obsessed, rather, with everything about it. These fabulous movies can do good in inspiring you! Emulate what your favorite character does for fun!

heart5 Be polite! Because of that golden rule. Well not just that, but having impeccably exquisite manners makes you a true lady! Smiling sweetly at the adorable boy at Starbucks and saying “thank you” will mean a lot both to you and him. Spread a bit of happiness, and you’ll be treated by others as the lady you are.

heart5 Put your best foot forward. Classic pumps, sky-high stilettos, crazy shoes (aka Rodarte) can give an instant shot of glamour to any outfit! And that extra three or so inches that does wonders in elongating your legs is quite miraculous.

net-alexander-mcqueen-heart-peep-toe-pumps-11

heart5 Carry a fabulous bag on your arm. (Maybe this is just a personal preference).

heart5 Bring a journal or planner everywhere you go. Because fabulous ladies are always incredibly organized. And there’s nothing more sophisticated than whipping out a beautifully binded book (oh Moleskine! I will own you!) to jot down a name, a number, or an event. Or a spontaneous idea. 

heart5 Have an optimistic outlook on life. & everything else, for that matter. Smile, have fun, enjoy yourself. Obstacles and mistakes help you learn and appreciate what you have now. Laugh, darlings! It’s contagious. And it burns calories and works out the stomach area.

heart5  heart5  heart5

So, dearest anonymous reader, I hope this helps. This topic was a bit different from what I usually write about – but I enjoyed it, nonetheless! Being fabulous is not equivalent to what you have. It begins with how you feel about yourself and your own standing in the world. It starts with self acceptance, appreciation, embracing the good, and having a positive outlook on life. Then the little bits of worldly changes come in as the sprinkles. 

xoxo,

La C.

quote

80 Comments leave one →
  1. 3 January 2009 5:46 am

    Loving this post. Loving the images. Love the quote!!!
    I loveee your blog haha.

  2. 3 January 2009 6:16 am

    Nice writing. You are on my RSS reader now so I can read more from you down the road.

    Allen Taylor

  3. 3 January 2009 6:49 am

    Hi there-what a fabulous post my dear-one of my faves of yours and I will definitely take a few of these tips. I love the wear red, invest in the classics and wear a nice bag!!

  4. 3 January 2009 7:08 am

    WOW!! this is the longest post I have read in 2009! 😛
    Clear, focus in life and most important being fabulous!! Great post! Added one of the point here in my 2009 resolution! 🙂

  5. 3 January 2009 7:14 am

    Thank you so much for this. I don’t have the best self-confidence and I’m sure that following these tips will give me more confidence and happiness over who I am. Thank you for posting this so I can try all the tips and learn lots on the way, I’ll be really fabulous after it! Hugs&Kisses

  6. 3 January 2009 7:15 am

    I love this post. I think you’re absolutely right – though I don’t recognise myself in every of the bullet points you summed up. But I think the gist of it is: do what makes you happy, wear what makes you feel special, and take care of yourself. It’s something that’s got more to do with style than fashion, and it extends to your entire life, not just your wardrobe. I think you portrayed that beautifully, so thank you for that inspiring message 🙂

  7. 3 January 2009 7:20 am

    to emma: aww thanks, darling!

    to allen: thank you, allen!

    to JW: haha! i didn’t even realize how long it was until i saw your comment!

    to anywhere i lay my head: your welcome 🙂 the least i can do is try to inspire. you are fabulous already – you just have to discover that within you.

    to lunemoiselle: thank you darling! what you said truly means a lot to me. you did a lovely job of summing it up yourself!

    xoxo,
    La C.

  8. 3 January 2009 7:21 am

    Oh and by the way, I LOVE My Fair Lady! I thought I was the only one… I know flicks like Breakfast at Tiffany’s are always a hit, but thank you for including one that isn’t as obvious. (Btw, how do you feel about Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, and Calamity Jane?) 🙂

    • 3 January 2009 7:24 am

      lunemoiselle: my fair lady is truly one of my ABSOLUTE all time favorites! everything about it is perfect :). as for seven brides for seven brothers & calamity jane – i LOVE them. i seem to have a thing for old hollywood musical/movies. they’re so incredibly fabulous! i do sometimes wish i lived back then 😉

  9. Alexandra permalink
    3 January 2009 7:36 am

    I can’t really express what I felt while reading this post but I will only say that your site is one of the most fabulous I’ve ever read.
    I’ve been looking for such a way to talk about fashion : not about runways and absolut “must-have” but fashion in daily routine, fashion in happy or gloomy days, the true fashion infact.
    Your website embraces an amazing outlook of life and help people to find some beauty in a world most often full of boredome and uglyness. Your advices are like little pops of colours in a gray life where you can’t always be yourself and do whatever you want.
    The reader who talked about your visible self-confidence ( yet humble manners 🙂 ) was absolutly true. Whenever I read your posts I find myself thinking “God, I really want to find that peace”. This is something I’m really looking for : peace, confidence and happyness.
    As for the tip about being polite,I totally agree. I think it’s very comforting to respond and act as a true lady in every circumstances and I find in polite manners strengh and rest. Besides, even the rudest man in the world will be wrapped around your finger if you grace him with a beautiful smile ( I tried it and it worked ! 😉 ).

    So, thank you for everything, and please do forgive my mistakes, I’m french 🙂

    Bons Baisers de France !

  10. 3 January 2009 9:46 am

    ah you’re FAB, this is a great list, really boosting self confidence without having to pay for anything! (except maybe classic black pumps I might need to get 😉 as investment!) Love your blog :D!

  11. 3 January 2009 9:54 am

    This is a great post and love the thought that goes into being fabulous!

  12. 3 January 2009 9:56 am

    Hi, there! HOw do you do today?
    I reckon you haven’t miss out on anything, dearie…I agree with almost all of the above…
    *politeness doesn’t cost an arm & a leg and it
    really does wonders in one’s life
    *upgrade once in awhile
    *be inspired
    *feeling down? wear R-E-D and wear heels!
    *underwear is just as important as outerwear
    and gosh,you’ll never caught me dead wearing
    mismatched lingerie!
    *simplify and organize your life.

  13. 3 January 2009 10:37 am

    loved the article. you are a phenomenal writer, by the way. 🙂
    and besides, who doesn’t want to be fabulous??? 😉

  14. 3 January 2009 10:55 am

    La C. — you deserve the compliment; you spend time and energy to make your blog helpful and informative…and it shows! Your advice is often better than most advice columns in fashion mags on the racks! I agree so much with these tips here — though, I think many of these can only be learned with age, LOL!

  15. 3 January 2009 11:07 am

    your article really really inspired me ♥
    thank you 🙂

    I’m getting up to do a few changes in my life.

  16. 3 January 2009 11:09 am

    wow that was very well said:)

  17. 3 January 2009 11:27 am

    What a nice post 🙂

  18. 3 January 2009 11:40 am

    thank you honey 🙂
    and as always, amazing post!
    you are a true inspiration, and your posts always make me feel better!!
    xx

  19. 3 January 2009 1:20 pm

    That anonymous admirer girl is dead on! Your block is incredible. I think it is the best one I read, even. And this was a lovely post, one of my resolutions is to be more glamorous so this ties in really well!

    okay i’m done raving about la couterier =)
    xx
    emma

  20. 3 January 2009 1:38 pm

    Anonymous is fabulous already – just for writing that terrific comment! And what a great response. I agree with all of your routes to being fab.

  21. 3 January 2009 2:23 pm

    That anonymous e-mail that you receive is awesome, and i love your explanation of what is fabolous

  22. 3 January 2009 2:27 pm

    Aw, what a great response to a lovely e-mail =)

  23. 3 January 2009 2:45 pm

    Oh, this was just what I needed. *sigh* I’ve been in a horrible mood all day, ever since Boyfriend and I was asked to go out with some people we went to school with. I truly like a couple of them, but the rest are the ones that always looked at me like I was a Nothing, and I’m not exactly looking forwards to a night of either a) being scowled at or b) having to pretend I don’t know that their smiles are more fake than the recent highlights in my hair. Grr.

    Well, your post was like a battle cry for me. No, of course I won’t battle the people we’re going out with (they DO like Boyfriend, and he likes them too), but I definitely need to defeat that horrible mood of mine. I’ve decided I’ll wear something that’s very definitely ME, paint my nails red (thank you!), fix my hair to show off those highlights, and pretend I’m Holly Golightly every time I feel the urge to be unpleasant (I’m actually more of a Charlotte from Lost In Translation, but her behaviour doesn’t work as well as Holly’s in (fake-)festive settings, if you get my drift).

    And even if the evening ends up being rather horrible, at least I’ll know there are better people out there – and yes, you should count yourself as one of them. Thank you for the pep-talk, love! How’s your 2009 been this far, by the way?

  24. 3 January 2009 3:08 pm

    super post lc… a gal just needs to believe in herself more and pamper herself more. well, that is my motto…. : )

  25. 3 January 2009 3:41 pm

    lovely post dear and each tip is so so true.life is too short to live it any other way but fabuolously!
    love all the images you posted.
    hope your having a great wknd.
    muah x
    marian

  26. 3 January 2009 3:43 pm

    great post as usually 😉

    xOxO

  27. 3 January 2009 4:15 pm

    to all: i definitely agree that miss anonymous is absolutely fab! & thank you so, so much 🙂 such kind & encouraging words really do mean so much to me.

    airam, darling: i totally understand 🙂 and those people are simple jealous of you! if they’re guys they’re mad that you chose your bf & not them, and if they’re girls, they’re just plain ol’ jealous of your lovely self! my 2009 has been pretty good, thank you! a bit of interesting things going on 😉 excited to see how everything will unravel in the days/months to come!

    xoxo,
    La C.

  28. 3 January 2009 4:27 pm

    this is a really cool post. i love the pictures too.

  29. 3 January 2009 4:49 pm

    This has been a wonderful read! Well done and thank you for sharing ❤

  30. 3 January 2009 4:51 pm

    Fabulous post and fantastic advise to all!!

    Happy New Year!

  31. 3 January 2009 4:53 pm

    Yet another great post! I love you blog more and more each time I read it! I will certainly try to think about this in my daily routins and happenings 🙂

    The Marni shoes would defenitely be an investment, but I can´t afford them right now. I´ll just have to wait and see how much the paycheck-fairy brings me this month. If they´re still available maybe it´s meant to be? 🙂

  32. Beatrice permalink
    3 January 2009 5:44 pm

    Speaking of fabulous, your blog just gets more fabulous each day!
    This particular post made me (simultaneously) smile ear to ear, sit a little straighter & taller, think about tidying my desk, and wonder where my Audrey/Grace Kelly books are located.
    Thanks for such an insightful post!

  33. 3 January 2009 8:36 pm

    Fab as always. Thanks for the treat today. Your post. And thanks for the smile you gave me today, too.

    Stay sexy & fab!

  34. 3 January 2009 9:53 pm

    Love your post… you are truly inspirational 🙂 And from a girl who has a blog named Fabutopia…you are definitely on the top of my list 🙂
    luv,
    grace

  35. sunkissed612 permalink
    3 January 2009 11:23 pm

    LOVE this. love love love. such great advice in fabulosity! i’ll definitely be taking some of your tips to heart in 2009!

  36. 3 January 2009 11:43 pm

    “people will stare. make it worth their while”

    I’ve got to say, I HAVE to follow this because I keep regretting about not putting the effort when I’m stared by this cute guy.

    Loved the walking tip! it always help me in “boostin” up my confidence >w<

  37. 4 January 2009 12:04 am

    Your last two posts have been so wonderful and inspirational. I think the start of a new year is the perfect time to reflect back on who we are and strive to feel good about ourselves more.

  38. 4 January 2009 1:34 am

    wow! you go girl!!
    i definitely agree with your anon reader! you’re truly fabulous and once again you have proved it with this post!

  39. 4 January 2009 2:25 am

    La C, what a fantastic post… it really does remind me that everyone can be fabulous no matter what the situation 🙂 Very well put, darling.
    And all your tips were just fantastic – I also loved the Harry Winston quote towards the end.
    Absolutely brilliant.
    xo

  40. 4 January 2009 8:46 am

    Nice writing, I love your fantastic post! 🙂

    xoxo: Janet

  41. The Seeker permalink
    4 January 2009 9:36 am

    This is such a great post my dear. One that it’s worth to print and have at a place to remember some things.

    Thank you for that.

    Happy 2009

    xoxo

  42. 4 January 2009 11:28 am

    wow I absolutly inspired after reading this post. It sounds strange but everytime I read your post I feel more confedence and happyer or better say I want to change! And after this post I want to change a lot! You gave me some great tips I will follow! You shoudl get a fab job in a Fashion magazine with your own Site in it! And there you will write like this and I promiss you you will be the loved by every women and every chief editor! And you could buy yourself every loveley bag you want but dont forget its a present to yourself!

    xoxo karen

  43. 4 January 2009 11:34 am

    Wow, brilliantly written! I am so going to bookmark this post!

  44. rita permalink
    4 January 2009 3:39 pm

    excellent article.

  45. 4 January 2009 4:57 pm

    Wow! I just recently started reading your blog, and am staying up until 2-3am., catching up! lol. You do really sound like such a sweet and humble gal. Proof that in order to be FAB, you don’t have to be fake, or vain. Thanx a lot for your inspiration…this post specifically made me want to go get a manicure, buy a planner, and look myself in the mirror–accepting each physical flaw, and letting go of past mistakes 😉 Take care, and God bless.

  46. 4 January 2009 5:47 pm

    What a beautiful post! You give such great advice. Thank you! x

  47. thebaglady permalink
    4 January 2009 6:17 pm

    so beautifully written. perfect in any way conceivable. i’m printing this out and saving it!! La C. – you should get your column like Dear E. Jean in Elle (only with this stuff + fashion). you’d make big money. so if any magazine editors or whomever’s reading this: THIS IS YOUR WOMAN RIGHT HERE!

    🙂

  48. 4 January 2009 6:23 pm

    SERIOUSLY inspirational! you’re a friggin great writer! hahaha.

    honestly, i agree with you.. confidence is key! thanks for the tips!

    to a year full of fabulosity! happy new year!

  49. 4 January 2009 7:46 pm

    Ive discovered your blog today and im sooooo happy!! this is one of the best posts ive ever read. Thanks!! Im sad because english isnt my mother language (i write your from Spain) so im sure i miss the poetical sounds, some words…..thank you again. With this post we see that you completely deserve the compliments of the anonymous girl.
    XOXO Andrea

  50. 4 January 2009 8:01 pm

    Ok, so this is definitely an extremely great post. I loved it, and even more when I saw one of my favourite Audrey’s pic.
    Ur blog is awesome, love it.

  51. 4 January 2009 8:03 pm

    this is a FANTASTIC post

    and it makes me want louboutins those three beautiful women in their trenches and heels look amazing!

  52. 4 January 2009 8:08 pm

    Super super post, really brightened my mood! I hope you do some more posts like this, I rarely ever read a post with text but once I started reading this I could’nt stop, it’s light-hearted, chic, and 100% inspirational, perfect for the beginning of 2009

    Merci ! xox

  53. 4 January 2009 9:21 pm

    Le WOW! 🙂

    Such an awesome email to receive and you absolutely deserve it darling! Thank you for writing such a great post and giving us that little kickstart we need on our down days.

    I think your site is one of the best reflections that fashion and life are symbiotic and shouldn’t be separated. How you managed to gel bits of fashion advice with slices of life is what makes yours such a great read. I believe your writing has the ability to touch everyone and yet, touch each person in a way that only belongs to that one person. That is a mark of a great writer. 🙂

    Keep it up babe! Your success is well-deserved, and I just know it will keep growing! ♥

    Love, love and all the best for 2009 and more,
    SEAH :p

  54. 4 January 2009 10:02 pm

    I am truly speechless. You are increadible, you know that, right?? This post is perfection. Your blog is perfection! Ahh I’m rambling…

    Your site is destined for greatness, as are you. Your love of life and your thoughts on fashion, beauty and life make all of our lives so much more beuatiful. You inspire me beyond belief.

    Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you. You are amazing xxx

  55. vipgal permalink
    5 January 2009 12:02 am

    wow .. thank you! this was really inspirational and long but very worth reading haha

    all the points you made are so perfectly correct.. beauty comes from attitudes from within and treating others & yourself with respect. thank you thank you!

  56. 5 January 2009 12:08 am

    Great post! No matter what my clothes are like, my essentials for feeling fabulous everyday are contacts, mascara, lip balm, perfume (Chanel Chance or Vera Wang Princess), and jewelry.

  57. 5 January 2009 2:27 am

    You are so right, fabulousness starts from within, once you learn to love yourself you can truely learn to love and appreciate all that is around you. Thank you for inspiring all of us once again. xx

  58. 5 January 2009 3:16 am

    Thanks for the comment on wewearthings! Hmmm it’d be interesting to see the guy equivalent of this post.

  59. 5 January 2009 3:42 am

    awesome awesome post! i have to agree w/everything. except…instead of red, i opt for black. haha 😉

  60. 5 January 2009 10:46 am

    She’s right – your blog is awesome 🙂

  61. 5 January 2009 1:42 pm

    Oh darling you certainly can rock the blog world, can’t you! I don’t even know where to begin, but I’m convinced the anon reader did cartwheels or heel-kicks… or perhaps a combination of the two after reading this.
    Amazing.

    Be someone you adore.
    Walk like Marilyn Monroe.
    What you wear underneath.

    I love this.

    xxx

  62. 5 January 2009 2:33 pm

    The epitome of an excellent, tasteful post.

  63. 5 January 2009 2:34 pm

    Empowering and Inspirational post. I am going to forward this to my friends to read, they will love it.

  64. 5 January 2009 4:11 pm

    You are the sweetest! i always smile after i read your posts, and this one didn’t disappoint. Simply fantastic 🙂

  65. 5 January 2009 4:32 pm

    darling hope you had a good wknd,just checking up on you dear. have a great wk ahead,
    muah!
    M.

  66. 5 January 2009 4:33 pm

    Yes, La C…you gave Anon and all of us wonderful advice. You are one kick ass chick 🙂

  67. 5 January 2009 5:13 pm

    adore, adore, adore. what a fabulous post. am bookmarking this and coming back to read it again and again!

  68. 5 January 2009 5:46 pm

    Wow! I’m at a loss for words…
    This really made my day The best post I’ve ever read!! Every part of it was really inspiring. I wish other people would start to take a hint at the Be Polite rule.

    P.S. Love the reference to the Tampon ad. lol

  69. 5 January 2009 6:05 pm

    I just love that picture you have of Audrey Hepburn, gorgeous!

  70. 5 January 2009 6:30 pm

    Excellent post! It really is all about how you carry yourself, how you feel about yourself, the confident you have in your decisions, especially the fashionable ones! You just gotta “own it” no matter what others may think or say, never second guess yourself because of them! Always be true to Y-O-U! All that definitely contributes to the fabulousness!

  71. 6 January 2009 6:02 pm

    you ARE fabulous!

    I have another: Have a great blog! It’s a way of making one’s life happier!

    This is your best post ever!! It really inspired me, thank you 🙂

  72. 6 January 2009 10:14 pm

    oh i absolutely loved this post! i agree with all of this and this has been so inspiring! thank you so much for this and like the previous person stated, YOU ARE FABULOUS!

  73. 8 January 2009 10:51 am

    Great post! Very inspirational

  74. 25 January 2009 12:49 pm

    this one is also amazing! woooow… i might add your blog to my usual list of inspirations 🙂

  75. 1 April 2009 3:06 pm

    You truly write the most well rounded, fashion focused blog I’ve ever seen. Just wanted to let you know I linked to this entry in my post today 🙂

    xoxo

Trackbacks

  1. the one hundredth! « La Couturier
  2. monday blues. « la couturier
  3. the stylist's notebook | beating the sunday blues • A Bit Coquettish
  4. The 100th! • A Bit Coquettish

Leave a comment