Skip to content

FAQ’s, revisited.

18 March 2010

{ image source: t u m b l r }

Just kidding. I know I’ve been MIA rather haphazardly, but you’ll forgive me, I know. No, I was not doing questionable things in my time off, but instead sexifying the stage in my school’s production of Grease. Hell Week and a weekend of shows all day was quite draining, even for a work-a-holic like myself, and thus the much needed break. And after a week of monsooning, no electricity (no Internet, the horror!), and dancing, I took advantage of this week’s beautiful weather to bask under the sun.

Which is the reason why the answers to your FAQ’s are a good week-and-a-half late.

How old are you?

Seventeen; I’ll be eighteen in less than a month!

Where do you live?

In the ever-so-fabulous and exciting suburbia of New Jersey.

What are the things you wish you knew when you were starting your blog ?

I don’t think there was anything I necessarily wish I knew; one of the many reasons why I started La Couturier – apart from my hopes to somehow inspire – was to grow as an aspiring writer. I guess I could say that I wish I had already had a unique voice when I first began, but that’s the beauty of blogging over a year’s time. Through writing [nearly] weekly I was able to find a style I was comfortable with, and continue developing that voice. It’s changed immensely – visit the archives, you’ll have a laugh.

I suppose I also wish I knew about the immense amount of emails I would receive daily; I get about a hundred (which isn’t too impressive in the grand scheme of things, but still a lot to handle for me) a day from darling readers with sweet messages or advice about life/fashion/etc., public relation companies of shops & designers, etc. The amount of communication is almost surreal. Who knew that I would ever be able to forge so many relations with people? Who knew that I, a mere seventeen year girl with aspirations bigger than herself would get an email from Jimmy Choo and Donna Karan‘s public relation representatives? It blows my mind, every single day.

What are your biggest no-no’s? (What would you never wear, go, eat, etc.)

Harem pants – I don’t find them particularly attractive in any shape or form, but if you can manage to pull them off, kudos to you! I find that they only look decent on an exclusive group of people – the thin, model-types. I would never go to a sketchy club for fear of safety and health. And I would never eat raw fish of any sorts! Other than the aforementioned, I would never limit myself to try new things.

What do you do on a daily basis. Work/study/etc. ?

School, dance team practices and/or rehearsal for the spring musical until five o’clock or later, sometimes a football or basketball game (depending on the season; my team performs sidelines & does the halftime shows), then homework. No studying. I’m such a b.a.m.f., I know. My evenings (that is, if I don’t have practice/games/rehearsals/etc.) are spent taking open classes for hip-hop at a local dance studio, blogging, and just catching up on my favorite blogs. I used to intern for Dujour Magazine, but apart from that, I am on the hunt for another job or internship – whatever I can get my little mittens on. It’s a relief that everything has ended and actually allows me time to relax, but at the same time, I don’t know what to do with all this time. At least I can finally try to find a job!

Who/what is your biggest source of inspiration?

My list of inspiration rattles onward and forthward to no end. It’s infinitive, to say the least. Most of my inspiration is derived from everyday things: people I see, the music I listen to, the books I read. I’ll give a very brief synopsis (though my sidebar depicts my main sources): music, Carine Roitfeld, Julia Restoin-Roitfeld, Olivia Palermo, Rachel Zoe, Emma Watson, Leighton Meester, Jessica Stroup, Miroslava Duma, Dasha, Versace, Donna Karan, Gucci, Victoria Beckham, anything French, Paris Vogue, Elisa Sednaoui, etc. Numerous blogs/bloggers inspire me as well: Le Cheap C’est Chic, Fashion Toast, Le Flassh, Phosphene, Love More, Ellen Claesson, Living Doll, Zoella, Lisa Place, Le Blog de Betty, La Revue de Kenza, Belle Chantelle, La Coquette, Frieda Rose, to name a few.

In light of the recent NYFW, which Fall collections are your favorites?

Blumarine, Burberry Prosum, Emilio Pucci, Donna Karan, Gucci, Hervé Léger, and Victoria Beckham were definitely my favorites of the lot.

Anymore questions? Comment below, tweet, e-mail, you know the drill.

bisous,

La C.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 18 March 2010 5:54 pm

    haha i loooove that picture! so funny.

    have a good day!

  2. loveisallyouneed permalink
    18 March 2010 11:33 pm

    Some of my own questions:

    – How would you describe your style?
    – Will you ever post pictures of yourself? (We’re all still so curious!)
    – What are your aspirations?
    – What are your favorite foods?
    – What’s your favorite makeup look (since I know you said you don’t where it much)

    I love this side of you; you’re always so sophisticated & eloquent, but I also love this sassy side. =)

  3. 19 March 2010 12:54 am

    That’s a great photo!

  4. 19 March 2010 10:21 am

    Right right. Another question…where can we get the sign? 😀

  5. 19 March 2010 3:57 pm

    LOL- that photo is fab 🙂
    love your answers.
    have a lovely weekend, xoxo

  6. 24 March 2010 4:25 am

    Hi there! Oh i never knew you were of the same age as me =], and this makes your blog even more inspiring! All the best in finding a job!

  7. 24 March 2010 4:29 pm

    Hey lady! I knew you were an east coast girl but didn’t know you’re from NJ. I’m from Jersey too… north Jersey. I always love when I find a fellow Jersey blogger (though I live in Los Angeles now). 🙂

    You are certainly a talented writer and I enjoyed reading your responses!

    xo, becs

  8. 24 March 2010 10:14 pm

    This photo is hilarious!!!

Leave a comment