Skip to content

happy february 14th!

14 February 2010

{ image source: f a s h i o n t o a s t }

So we all know the fourteenth of every February has been, nationally (read: corporately) deemed Valentine’s Day, and that I, for some unknown reason, am completely, utterly, and inexplicably in love with the above photo of Rumi from Fashion Toast. Candied hearts, handmade valentines, boxed chocolates, and de-thorned bouquets of roses, and all. My obsession with the new color combination of anything taupe and/or mushroom colored with a pastel pink has only intensified with this snapshot.

I’m hardly bitter about being single on Valentine’s Day; I’ve gone my long, seventeen years sans another half (but I do have  a Valentine every year though; four was the magic number of last year’s Valentine’s Day) quite happily. Cue “Single Ladies” whilst dolling up with something resembling a freakum dress – I’m quite ready for this lovely day! Ordering thousand-calorie desserts sprinkled with something pink, dressing up, and wearing bits of pink here and there with a dash of sparkle is excused without a second thought. Of course spending an entire day with a romantic sweetheart is adorable, but is it necessary? Not entirely. In fact, not at all – I would much rather spend it with the girls.

Valentine’s Day is not a reminder of this self-conjured thought of your inability to attract men (or women, whichever sex you choose). It is but a day in the year that so happens to fall on the fourteenth of February, but if we insist on making it significant, then, Valentine’s Day is a reminder of the freedom and independence you have as a self-sufficient woman. All you need is you: you alone hold the key to your aspirations, happiness, and successes. No (wo)man is necessary to feel whole or empowered.

Is it depressing to feel alone, or left out, when all other ladies have little bouquets and kisses awaiting them? Perhaps. It all depends entirely on your perspective. I know one too many girls who loathe Valentine’s Day – and all things associated with it – with their entire being. They mope, gorging themselves with food as they dig out all self-imagined faults and allow themselves to submit to their insecurities. I suppose I can attempt to empathize, yet those of you who follow my Tumblr or actually know me (!) know that I value my independence above all else. I have never harbored any desire to have a boyfriend for that very reason; being single allows for so much more freedom. Being coquettish is allowed! And that, my loves, is quite entertaining in itself!

Thus, for you single ladies out there, embrace your independence. Take advantage of it; wear red and pull out your freakum dress. Take a bit of time to coif the hair and do the makeup – nothing too extravagant, of course. Think to emphasize your best features, whether it be your hair, your eyes, your lips, your figure. Go out on Valentine’s Day à la the Sex and the City girls pre-marriage, and just enjoy yourself.

bisous,

La C.

P.S.: I am currently in love with Lorraine of The Current Custom; you ladies better watch her “Anti-Valentine’s Day” video. It is unbelievably hilarious. Take those tips to heart, mes chéries.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. 14 February 2010 6:53 am

    Lovely post! Although I do have a boyfriend, we both value our independence and alone time from each other. I think it is so important in a relationship, not just when you are single. For the record I didn’t have a boyfriend until I turned 18. Happy Valentine’s day, this post is so sweet and reassuring 🙂

  2. mim permalink
    14 February 2010 10:11 am

    you can be independent and still be in a relationship. i know the past seven years hasn’t turned me into a co-dependent individual, or that i can only identify myself as part of a couple. i think girls make a big to do about their “independence” as a justification for not having a significant other, and once they fall in love and that significant other (whether soulmate or the one for the time being) is found, the proclamation of loving independence falls to the way-side.
    .
    hopefully if you do find that special, lovely boy (even if you’re not specifically wanting one or looking for love) – hang onto the feeling of cherishing your independence! glad you’re taking advantage of valentines day to dress pretty in pink and to have a fun girly day 🙂

  3. 14 February 2010 10:25 am

    Thank you for your comment on my blog!:)

    Well put as always.
    I don’t mind being single at all on valentines day or any other day for that matter. Just yesterday I read somewhere that this girl was apprehensive of going on a fabulous holiday because she wouldn’t see her boyfriend for two weeks..that made really happy about being single. But then again I do have moments where I see those lovey dovey photos of happy couples and wish I had someone to share those moments with. It’s contradicting, but it’s the way it is, love happens to you, you can’t really go looking for it. I do hope it doens’t find me until after the summer holidays though!

    x

  4. 14 February 2010 10:32 am

    I love this post! Valentine’s Day should be about sharing love – not necessarily with a boyfriend or girlfriend, but with friends, family, and everyone else in your life. Thanks for reminding me of this!

  5. 14 February 2010 12:11 pm

    ha that picture is so perfect! to be honest i haven’t even thought about the fact that it is valentines day – i’m going to spend it with my parents, real cool huh?

  6. 14 February 2010 1:27 pm

    Lovely post! Valentines is just a day, spending it with your loved ones or with yourself doesn´t matter as long as your happy! Love can be shown on all days of the year!

  7. 14 February 2010 3:55 pm

    I’ve been in a relationship with my boyfriend for most than a year, and I couldn’t be happier, but also, I couldn’t agree more with you. We are all we need, and a boyfriend no is someone who completes you or without whom you are not full but someone who complements you, loves you and respects your independence. Your texts are always great Kim, I love it! 😀
    xx

  8. 14 February 2010 4:15 pm

    I applaud you for this post, for echoing my thoughts and writing them in a way that I could only dream of doing.

  9. 15 February 2010 4:25 pm

    Have you heard about the “Avenue Debut Grand Givaway” I just entered and you should too! I can’t wait to win the $1000 shopping spree from LVCMag.com I need a new spring wardrobe with all the ideas I get from this blog.

  10. 15 February 2010 5:26 pm

    I love this photo of Rumi too!Great post dear it’s so true each and every word.But a girl should keep in mind to remain coquettish even after finding her soulmate, but most important to this for herself in the first place and then to impress the man who loves her.
    Bisous
    http://hisforhotcouture.blogspot.com/

  11. 16 February 2010 5:18 am

    I loved this post!!! I stole the bottom snippet and featured u on my blog. Fantastic outlook and a great blog as well!

  12. 18 February 2010 2:16 am

    I agree with Mim, far too often women seem to put on all this bravado and proclaim that it’s not that nobody wants them, it’s that they don’t want anyone. I wonder how many actually believe that. However, this isn’t to say that you are one of those women and I heartily agree with your outlook!

  13. 27 February 2010 11:23 pm

    I agree with Hannah, Valentines day is surely the day of love. And it need not be your boyfriend, ther are so many people around you who loves you!
    Inspiring blog!

    Bises,
    7jades.

  14. 27 February 2010 11:28 pm

    Great blog, Thats quite true that there are so many people around us whom we love and who loves us!

    Regards,
    Ben.

  15. 27 February 2010 11:30 pm

    This is really a lovely blog! So true..

    Bises,
    7jades.

Leave a comment