Skip to content

i ♥ dakota rico, & dakota rico ♥ me too.

16 August 2009

Or so Dakota Rico said in the subject line of the email. (;

I cannot put into words how happy and tickled and excited and flattered and <insert related adjective here> I get when I get such emails. No, not emails whose title resembles something the like of “! ! ! Dakota Rico Loves La Couturier ! ! ! ! ” (though the ego boost is lovely, darling!). But it truly is the best feeling in the world knowing that I have inspired someone out there – because that, for me, is the ultimate goal I had in starting La Couturier.

Mes chéries, I introduce you to Dakota Rico, a talented designer who frequents this humble little blog of mine (and I cannot describe how elated I am by that fact!). This would be him: the author of a photography-inspired weblog, a designer, a traveler, and a ridiculously talented artist. I quite liked reading his about page (Dakota: you are so adorable!) for reasons beyond the fact that he is quite the looker (; – we are quite similar in our love for traveling, meeting new people, writing, coffeeshop conversations, and photography. But of course it is he who is the talented one.

Anyhoo. Not only did his email, chock full of compliments, make me blush, but the inclusion of his latest design (that is now printed for his boutique) named “La Couturier” after yours truly, nearly made me  s q u e a l  in excitement. Feast your eyes, darling:

DakotaRico7

DakotaRico8

DakotaRico10

It goes without saying how stunningly incredible the illustration is – the details, the languid, haughty boudoir-meets bourgeois air of the woman pictured. I need this black & white print in my room, framed in black, on my wall maintenant.

Do visit Dakota’s blog; it is truly inspirational, full of photos and art documented through his travels.

EDIT: More reasons why I love Dakota here.

bisous,

La C.

P.S.: His favorite quote:

“In the end, only three things matter – How much you loved, how gently you lived, and how gracefully you let go of things not meant for you.”

49 Comments leave one →
  1. 16 August 2009 5:37 pm

    This is amazing!!! You must be flattered, but you really deserve it.

  2. 16 August 2009 6:17 pm

    How fantastic!

  3. 16 August 2009 6:52 pm

    J’adore his favorite quote, as well as this gorgeous illustration. You must be beaming from his compliments! 🙂

  4. 16 August 2009 6:57 pm

    GORGEOUS drawing! Hope you had a fab weekend! 🙂
    xx

  5. 16 August 2009 7:06 pm

    That quote…wise words!!

  6. 16 August 2009 7:09 pm

    im keeping that quote. i need help on the last one.

  7. 16 August 2009 8:28 pm

    lucky you!
    what a beautiful illustration!

  8. 16 August 2009 8:40 pm

    This is so amazing! I’m so happy for you! The drawings are amazing<3

  9. 16 August 2009 11:17 pm

    How COOL!!

  10. 17 August 2009 12:12 am

    The illustration is beautiful, you must have quite a little collection started by now.
    I’m glad to see people are sitting up and taking notice of your talents. Bravo!

  11. 17 August 2009 12:41 am

    ah another inspirational and talented person!
    that quote is so great too. i’m going to have to write it down :]

    miss you! xx

  12. 17 August 2009 2:31 am

    I Love La Couturier!

    Thank you so much Kim for your compliments, your post and your snippet about me. It made my day.

    I am flattered with what you said about me. *So many smiles.*

    Thank you so much for being an inspiration, in your style, as La Couturier, and, an inspiration for me to start my journal. I’ll keep that picture up and I won’t forget it.

    Bisous to La Couturier.

    XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOX

    DAKOTA RICO 2009

  13. 17 August 2009 3:31 am

    OMG ! This only proves that YOUR heart is genuine and each time it beats all of us, (Your Readers) can feel its LOVE !
    p.s. Dakota’s illustrations are Fabulous!

    bisous,
    Gerri

  14. 17 August 2009 5:46 am

    AMAZING! The drawing is just AWESOME!!!!

    Have to take a look at Dakota’s blog now….

    Pleasant week to you, sweetie!

  15. 17 August 2009 6:48 am

    Wow, the drawing is so pretty! And while reading your blog, I always pictured a woman like he draw, as the writer of the articles. He really is talented, but you are too. ;D

  16. 17 August 2009 10:51 am

    AMAZING!

    XoXo

  17. 17 August 2009 10:59 am

    Oh wow, incredible ❤
    I miss getting such e-mails, they stopped when I had to change blogs and e-mail accounts
    *pouts*

  18. 17 August 2009 11:49 am

    Hey La C. Wow. That is magnificent. I’m really happy for you. I hope your week has started off well. It sounds like it definitely has. Cheers!

  19. Olga permalink
    17 August 2009 12:51 pm

    That is awsome! Beautiful pics too!

    Olga xx

  20. 17 August 2009 12:55 pm

    How wonderful! Your blog IS incredibly inspiring and thanks for sharing Dakota’s blog too!

  21. 17 August 2009 1:12 pm

    Yay! This is awesome!! I love the pictures too, am checking out his site now… I love getting sweet e-mails like this! (though mine are pretty rare!) And don’t worry your blog is definitely one of my inspirations!

  22. 17 August 2009 2:29 pm

    That’s so awesome that you’re getting a design named after you by a designer you love, and who also happens to love you back!

  23. 17 August 2009 2:56 pm

    i ♥ dakota rico, i ♥ LA COUTURIER !!!

    These sketches are awesome!!!

    Have a beautiful day and wonderful week ahead!!!

  24. 17 August 2009 2:59 pm

    love the sketches, and the quote is quite amazing too!

  25. 17 August 2009 3:30 pm

    The sketches are great!I love the earrings.

  26. 17 August 2009 3:52 pm

    It’s such a gorgeous illustration! You must be so happy!! Hope you’re having an amazing week love! xxoxoxo

  27. 17 August 2009 4:23 pm

    Oh, it’s stunning!

    Btw, is your name Kim?

    x

  28. 17 August 2009 4:27 pm

    You have fans everywhere! 😀
    You know, I’ve been thinking of making (drawing) an illustration-link of you but I fear that I am not as talented as your other fans. Tsk tsk.

    • 17 August 2009 4:28 pm

      LF: Yes it is! (;

      BoredandCrafty: Aw – I hardly believe that any one person is more talented than the other! (: If you’d like, do send it my way – I would be more than honored to receive and illustration by you darling!

  29. 17 August 2009 5:05 pm

    Wow, how flattering is that?? Gorgeous!

  30. 17 August 2009 5:34 pm

    That’s so awesome! I’d be so flattered if I were you too!

    xo t

  31. Clare permalink
    17 August 2009 10:05 pm

    How gorgeous and flattering! i love the drawings. You always receive such cool things!

  32. 17 August 2009 10:42 pm

    I so wish I could draw at all, let alone as beautifully as that. What an exciting gift to receive.

    And thanks for introducing me to Dakota’s blog — it’s quite a visual feast!

    * Kelsey

    • 17 August 2009 10:43 pm

      The Anthology: It is quite amazing (: And of course! It really is a feast for the eyes – I’m in love with the photography and richness of the culture captured!

  33. 18 August 2009 3:32 am

    i think i’m in ❤ with Dakota too!

  34. 18 August 2009 9:47 am

    I love the illustration, dear. Its a good representation of the person I have in mind whenever I read your posts. The boudoir element is lovely too. I’ll definitely check his blog out.

    xx

  35. 18 August 2009 10:30 am

    hey hun! been awhile!! went away this weekend — how are you?? 🙂

    great illustration! will try to visit his blog! thanks for sharing!

    iyam
    http://www.styleandbeyond.blogspot.com

    • 18 August 2009 10:31 am

      Valentine: Aw, thanks! (: Isn’t it so couture-like?

      iyam: It has been – I hope your little weekend was fabulous! I’m doing quite well, thank you!

  36. The Gal permalink
    18 August 2009 1:22 pm

    this is beautiful! 🙂

    shoeboxgal.blogspot.com

  37. 18 August 2009 2:14 pm

    congratulations – that is so exciting!!! i would be absolutely thrilled too!!
    xox

  38. 18 August 2009 2:21 pm

    beautiful illustrations!

  39. 18 August 2009 6:14 pm

    Thank you for sharing this wonderful drawing! That quote is so true!
    J’adore

    xxx

  40. 18 August 2009 8:27 pm

    I love the quote. how ture!

  41. 18 August 2009 9:20 pm

    How sweet! I am loving his talent and blog! The details in the pictures are amazing. Simply amazing.

  42. 19 August 2009 3:00 am

    Cool site.I will visit!xo

  43. 19 August 2009 3:51 pm

    Awesome !!!
    You deserve it as well, really !!!! !

  44. 19 August 2009 4:55 pm

    wonderfull illustrations!! if you like the fashion illustrations visit my blog!

Leave a Reply

