Skip to content

maintenant | no. 001

2 February 2009

Perhaps the enactment of a new feature; on my sidebar some of you may have noticed un petit section, dubbed “maintenant” as sort of faux Twitter for those less attuned to newer technologies (i.e.: yours truly); it’s much simpler! That, and a combination of random lists of various things, i.e. my current obsessions. Henceforth, it shall take the shape of occasional posts and remain on the sidebar for those of you who curious about the nows of my life!

heart5 K is for Korcula

I must admit that I am not one to accessorize lavishly; I usually opt for simpler, silver jewelry, where statement pieces are usually left for special occasions or worn if and only if it matches a particular ensemble well. Thus said, my daily staples include some sort of a pendant on a silver chain (I rotate between an Eiffel Tower charm, Swarovski lock & key pendant, heart-shaped locket on a longer chain, etc.), a single silver bangle, and, of course, a ring of sort (from simpler ones to cocktail rings – my jewelry splurge of choice!). Which is, of course, why I love Korcula.

korcula

I’ve been quite obsessed with Korcula since I saw Rumi Neely of Fashion Toast wear the brand’s jewelry. Something about its insignia is so unique – a bit mysterious, a bit vintage, and a part goddess-like all in it’s “K” shaped symbol. Like a symbol you would find lurking beneath the seas from Atlantis – I’m quite in love! Not to mention, the K for Korcula could surreptitiously stand for the initial of my first name; a double meaning, perhaps? With the use of gold, rose gold, and silver, Korcula’s pieces are truly unique. I’m particularly in love with the Signature Gold Korcula necklace simply for its, well, simplicity, the gold Lattice Cuff for the gorgeous Grecian feel, & Silver Yacht Wheel Bracelet because I just do. Simply stunning, I say. It’s a quite a pity that my spending funds are a bit low now – onto the never ending wishlist it goes!

heart5 Perfectly Pearlized, Python Perlina

perlina-snake-embossed-pleated-satchel

I do hope you enjoyed my attempt at interjecting a bit of alliteration. But setting all rhetorical devices aside, I do believe I’ve fallen in love with another bag (and this has been the first love-at-first-sight bag for quite some time!). So behold! The pearlescent, snake-embossed leather bag by Perlina (Nordstroms, $168) in such a pretty lilac color. It’s the first python-embossed print I’ve seen that doesn’t look obnoxiously faux, which does appease my I-can’t-afford-the-real-thing condition of my current state. The color is simply gorgeous; so dainty and delicate – but perhaps not the most practical, considering that I do obsessively change my bag to match my ensembles. The silhouette is really beautiful, folding over and ruched perfectly, the armhole a bit scrunched; I actually do like that the handles are one with the bag itself. The size is quite perfect; at the size of a large tote but not appearing so, the possibilities I could fill it with seem infinite. This is all judgement from the photograph, of course; I have yet to see and touch this bag in person. I do hope that the black version is prettier than it seems on the site. If so, I would honestly consider it, seeing that it would be a new addition to my little collection – very different from others I already own.

heart5 Pastel Colors

chanel-polish

First the Perlina bag, now the Chanel nail lacquers. Either I am pining for springtime to arrive – warmer weather, pretty dresses, aromatic flowers a-blooming – or, well, scratch that. I am pining for spring; enough of this haggard, cold weather that tempts me to wear scarves everyday (not that I mind) and dread walking out the door. So while I can’t make God (or whichever divine being(s) or none) shoo winter away (although global warming may do the trick rather efficiently), these exquisitely girlish colors, Miami Peach and Lilac Sky, do make winter a bit more bearable. I’m thoroughly convinced that I am flip flopper of some sort, loving dark burgandy, purple (oh, any deep purple polish is love!), and Chanel Blue Satin, and switching to pastel colors in a matter of minutes.

heart5 Enjoying…

hot-chocolate… a huge mug of hot cocoa with a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar on top.

Wishing you all a lovely first week of February!

xoxo,

La C.

61 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 February 2009 10:01 pm

    I adore those Lanvin pumps on the right column. They’re gorgeous! Great blog btw.

    Stop by anytime.
    🙂

  2. 2 February 2009 10:04 pm

    Pastels, noooooooo! Must run to the nearest closet to hide in the dark, while sipping my hot chocolate, mmmm.

  3. 2 February 2009 10:14 pm

    Those chanel pastels look devine! I think you should get the bag in the colour you’ve featured not the black.. to brighten up a monotonal outfit or compliment all the gorgeous dresses you will be wearing come spring time 🙂 xx

  4. 2 February 2009 10:37 pm

    This Perlina ad is like a breath of fresh air! I can feel the summer and the warm weather, already. And Chanel Miami Peach is the perfect shade to prepare for it!

  5. 2 February 2009 10:47 pm

    oh that ad is wonderful
    makes me feel like it’s spring ! and what a pretty color indeed
    and i share your love of hot cocoa
    yum!

  6. 3 February 2009 12:23 am

    Reading your post makes me feel all warm inside… I can’t wait till Spring comes. Golden jewelry, pink nails, cute bags… Love it!! 🙂

  7. 3 February 2009 2:06 am

    Imagine Miami Peach on your hands and Lilac Sky on your toes. I am running out to buy these shades!

  8. 3 February 2009 2:28 am

    that bag is adorable! i love the color and her scarf!

  9. 3 February 2009 2:32 am

    I love korcula jewelery… their insignia is actually a letter in Ukrainian and Russian alphabet,lol.

    I think that pastels are perfect for summer and spring 🙂 and that bag is gorgeous.

  10. 3 February 2009 3:18 am

    can’t wait for spring either, darlin!
    that cocoa looks divine! 😛

  11. 3 February 2009 3:29 am

    Hmm if you wear black as often as you say you do, I say get the bag in pink to punch up your outfit!

  12. 3 February 2009 4:52 am

    This is great – I love hearing what’s on your radar at the moment! And mmm hot cocoa sounds yum. xx

  13. 3 February 2009 6:54 am

    Hi there-the jewellery selection is stunning my dear, I love the necklace! The Chanel nail colours are so sugar sweet!

  14. 3 February 2009 9:00 am

    Love the Golden cuff if it was in silver, I am very slowly getting used to gold jewellery, I have always been a silver girl.
    Something it made very thristy…. beautiful pictures of the hot chocolate w/cinnamon… My favourite drink all times, sometimes with a splash of Bailey’s for the eve cocoa!
    take care hun.

  15. 3 February 2009 9:39 am

    hi, did you know that Korčula is place in Croatia? Actually hometown of Marco Polo…anyway, it was funny to see it and that this is the name of jewelery, maybe the designer is someone with Croatian routs :)…but I saw the collection I can say thats definitely something that would wear women on Adriatic coast, on the hot summer night…till next comment(Im new on bloglovin)

    hi from Zagreb, Croatia

  16. 3 February 2009 10:41 am

    I loove pastel colours 🙂

  17. 3 February 2009 11:17 am

    i seem to be lacking in the accessory dept.. but i do like that necklace!

  18. 3 February 2009 11:44 am

    Love those nail polish! I need to buy one of those, I miss summer so much and yes, having one of those colours on my fingertips would make waiting for it less painful! Oh and the hot chocolate, who wouldn’t want to have a cup of that loveliness<333 The bag is also very lovely:D

    Thank you for your lovely comment again sweetie<333

    Hugs & Kisses

  19. 3 February 2009 12:14 pm

    those from Korcula are truly lovely. you know, accessorices are what complete an outfit. 🙂

  20. 3 February 2009 12:29 pm

    That lattice cuff is fantastic! Love this whole post 🙂

    xoxox,
    CC

  21. 3 February 2009 12:40 pm

    That hairband is awesome!

  22. 3 February 2009 1:26 pm

    I second the comment that the lattice cuff is to die for! I would love this for the summer to wear with all my sun dresses! Would look great with a tan!

  23. 3 February 2009 1:52 pm

    I kind of love that Miami Peach Chanel …dreamy!!!

  24. 3 February 2009 2:45 pm

    I love that purple python bag especially with that dress. You’re so lucky to be drinking a nice cup of cocoa. It’s snowing where I am right now and cocoa would be the perfect drink to have right now while watching the snow fall 🙂

  25. 3 February 2009 5:07 pm

    I love that mug of hot cocoa 😉 😀

    And I also love this post.

    xoxo

  26. 3 February 2009 5:34 pm

    i am so itching for spring, too. i know we’ve been blessed w/warm weather lately here in LA, but it’s temporary. i can’t wait for end of spring early summer when the weather is just right.

  27. kristine permalink
    3 February 2009 7:12 pm

    that korcula jewelry is gorgeous! i’ve never heard of them until your post!

    i say you go buy that bag in that beautiful pinkish purple!

    & hot chocolate is always yummy!

  28. 3 February 2009 7:13 pm

    Hi There

    Thank you for your comment on my blog – it’s so lovely receiving positive feedback, especially from the other side of the world!

    I have added you to my blog roll – you are a fantastic writer, keep it up. Your writing is so uplifting and positive, makes me happy and believe that everything is going to be ok.

    kimmy xx

  29. 3 February 2009 7:15 pm

    La Couturier. I always enjoy reading your posts and the pictures are always so clear, love it.

  30. 3 February 2009 7:38 pm

    I love the korcula logo- it reminds me of a really graceful grecian symbol.

    Hope you’re having a nice week, girlie 🙂

  31. 3 February 2009 8:48 pm

    I like the jewelry ! And the Miami Peach color looks fantastic !

  32. 3 February 2009 9:02 pm

    I love those Chanel nail lacquers! Escpecially the Miami Peach, but it makes me want to jaunt to
    Florida.

    Yeah I need summer to come soon. Winter has
    lasted way tooo long.

  33. thebaglady permalink
    3 February 2009 10:10 pm

    this is such a cute idea for us curious readers! i also say you get that bag! & the polishes!

  34. 3 February 2009 10:20 pm

    that perlina bag is exquisite! i want it too!
    i’m really into dark nails right now. i painted my nails black on friday…and i can unabashedly say that they look gorgeous!

  35. 3 February 2009 10:42 pm

    That miami peach color is gorge.

  36. 3 February 2009 10:45 pm

    The jewellery is so pretty, that lattice cuff and the necklace are great – simple and yet ornate enough to be interesting. You should totally get the bag in that color, pastel bags are in this season it seems and a great contrast against all your blacks.

  37. 4 February 2009 12:12 pm

    I’m totally not one to be draped in jewelery either but have recently been making an effort to pick up a few more pieces. And I ALWAYS love an alliteration. Keep em comin and stay gold.

  38. 4 February 2009 12:35 pm

    Love the bag and lilac sky nail color. Ah…if only spring would come!

  39. 4 February 2009 12:42 pm

    Mmmm too many things to love/want. I like the signature Korcular necklace. I’m still kind of scared of any nailpolish that isn’t your basic red or black/darkcolor

  40. 4 February 2009 12:52 pm

    wow, that jewellery is so gorgeous

  41. 4 February 2009 12:57 pm

    thank you honey 🙂
    I love pastel colours and hot chocolate too! mmmmmmmmmmmm….

    xx

  42. 4 February 2009 1:39 pm

    i totally like the golden cuff. also the rose chanel nalepolish looks great as always.

  43. 4 February 2009 4:05 pm

    I am very into pastel colours on my nails at the moment too! Pastels remind me so much of warm summer days…I don’t know why. And that cup of hot chocolate looks so yummy right now! I hope you’re having a lovely first week of February too, my dear xoxox

  44. 4 February 2009 4:18 pm

    Love the pastel colored nail polish, and that bag is gorgeous, i think i even want the scarf 😀

  45. 4 February 2009 4:19 pm

    I didn’t know pastel colours were being sold, that’s very cool. Gotta try that lilac one!

    thanks for the nice com ment at my site 🙂

  46. 4 February 2009 4:28 pm

    great post! aww, I’d love to have that hot cocoa right now 🙂

  47. 4 February 2009 4:29 pm

    Lovely colors for Spring , gotta look for something similar and that hot cocoa sure does look good. I think when I get home I will make my chai tea latte. 😉

  48. 4 February 2009 5:03 pm

    i simply adore your writing, and that makes me want to keep reading ur blog! i agree with u, that bag is lovely and so are the pastel colours! xoxo

  49. 4 February 2009 6:08 pm

    My new excitement in life is bags. That perlina bag is certainly a wonderful one. I never used purses or bags before like a year ago, so this whole world is exciting…and expensive.

  50. 4 February 2009 6:16 pm

    oh darn, you’ve got me craving hot chocolate!
    that one looks scrumptious 🙂
    and i love the pastel shades too, they really set off a good (fake) tan!

    oh, and i loved your alliteration. good work!

    lovely post as always
    mxx

  51. 4 February 2009 7:09 pm

    hey, thanks for your comment! Those nail colours are gorgeous, I am so into pinks and purples at the moment. The jewllery is amazing too, I especially love the necklace, it has some strange sort of allure.

    Brooke xx

  52. 4 February 2009 7:36 pm

    i am so honored! thank you so much. i am loving the miami peach nail polish…:)

  53. liz permalink
    4 February 2009 7:48 pm

    Korcula jewelry is fabulous!

  54. 4 February 2009 7:53 pm

    LOVE the korkula pieces–her work is gorgeous! That lattice cuff would look especially lovely paired with a simple white tee and jeans. heck, it would look lovely with just about anything!

  55. 4 February 2009 8:42 pm

    chanel nailpolish is always the best and now even better in those cute pastel colours. LOVE IT

  56. 6 February 2009 3:08 pm

    I love pastel colors for my nails, specially in summer! I add you to my favourites!

    a huge kiss*

  57. 7 February 2009 5:19 pm

    that lattice cuff is pretty great!
    xoxo

  58. 11 February 2009 2:59 pm

    love the lattice cuff!

    Mathilde x

Trackbacks

  1. k is for korcula. « la couturier
  2. Uncertainty and Chocolate « dith.er
  3. been writing and planning loads. « la couturier

Leave a comment